Jack Snack Nachos

My extremely popular recipe for Jack Snacks (millions of fans on Facebook)  I have just taken to a new level.  Last night my husband asked for some and begged me to put just a few refried beans on top this time.  So I did the nutritional math for a tiny bit of those added and the damage wasn’t as bad as I thought:  3.45 net carbs per piece (original version w/o beans is .08 NC per piece), but definitely higher than the inspirational recipe.

These were VERY good and I felt like I was eating a real Texas-style nacho.  I baked them  in two stages and let them get crisper than I usually do so they might get crisp enough for the final nachos to be manageable in our hands.  That surprised me as I thought the moisture in the beans might make them a bit soggy and require a fork to eat them.  But that didn’t turn out to be the case.  These are not suitable until you reach the legumes rung of Atkins Phase 2 carb reintroduction ladder.  Keto folks can have these if the numbers fit your daily limits.  These are not suitable for Paleo or Primal due to the beans.

Many more delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, Volume 8, by Jennifer Eloff, Chef George Stella of Food Network fame, and myself.  Volume 8 is almost completely comprised of my recipes! Chef George Stella and Jennifer Eloff are also including several tasty new delights in Vol.  8! Order yours (or any of our earlier cookbooks) from Amazon  or our direct order site: amongfriends.us/order.php.  Remember, they make GREAT birthday or holiday gifts!  If you’ve already purchased a book, the team would appreciate it if you would please take a moment and drop by the our Amazon page to leave your personal review.  🙂

INGREDIENTS:

1 recipe my Jack Snacks

½ c. canned refried beans, warmed a bit in the microwave for a minute or so

1/3 c. shredded Cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 375º.  Per the Jack Snack recipe, place 1 T. of the shredded Monterrey Jack cheese on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  A total o f 16 little piles should be formed equally spaced apart.  Pop into the hot oven and bake about 10-15 minutes or until golden on top and around the edges.  Remove pan and dot each cheese portion with about ½-3/4 tsp. of the warm beans.  I used a tiny demi-tasse spoon to dip these up for portion control.  Do not spread the beans out lest the cheese bases get soggy!  Lay the jalapeno slice on top of each and sprinkle the 1/3 c. shredded Cheddar on top.  Pop back into oven and bake until the Cheddar has melted or about 7-10 minutes longer.  Remove from oven and cool a minute or so so the bases can form/crisp up for removing.  Serve and enjoy!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 16 nachos, each contains:

45 calories, 3.3 g fat, 3.73 g carbs, 0.59 g fiber, 3.45 g NET CARBS, 1 g protein, 107 mg sodium

 

 

 

Leave a Comment