Shrimp and Sausage Bisque

I made the most scrumptious seafood bisque tonight for dinner.  It was ready in just 1 hour, too!  I wanted to make seafood gumbo, but I didn’t have okra in the freezer and gumbo just isn’t gumbo to me without okra.  So I pulled out my trusty gumbo recipe of many years and basically made that, less the okra.  I subbed in cream for all the canned tomatoes in my gumbo recipe to make it more like a bisque.  WOW!  We LOVED IT!  This one is a keeper for sure!  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, provided those still on Induction omit the white wine and those on Paleo use coconut milk instead of cream.

001

Many more simple, tasty low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own copy of our cookbooks  LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  Volume 8 is almost exclusively comprised of my recipes with some new George Stella and Jennifer Eloff creations.  Volume 9, due out in October, has mostly my recipes once again.

EARLY BIRD SECRET SALE!!  Order here for estimated October delivery:  https://amongfriends.us/Secret-SALE.php

Order any of our books from Amazon  or here: amongfriends.us/order.php. There’s currently a special offer of a bundle of all 8 previous volumes that reduces their individual price to only $13.22!  Don’t miss out on this bargain!  And please, if you’ve already bought Volume 8, I sure would appreciate your taking a moment to stop by this page and leave your personal review:

INGREDIENTS:

3 oz. bacon, coarsely chopped

1 c. celery, chopped

3/4 c. green bell pepper, chopped

3 oz. onion, chopped

½ c. parsley, chopped

6 oz. pork breakfast sausage

1 medium leaf kale, (about 3/4 c.), stemmed & chopped fine

2 cloves garlic, minced

¼ tsp. Cajun Seafood Spice Blend

½ tsp. dried thyme leaves

¼ tsp. black pepper

Dash cayenne pepper

22 large shrimp, (shell removed), cut in halves (12 oz tail-on pkg)

2 c. chicken broth (preferably homemade, or seafood stock)

1 c. heavy cream

¼ c. white wine

Tiny dusting of xanthan gum or your favorite thickener

11 San Marzano mini tomatoes cut into 4 pieces (or 22 cherry tomatoes left whole)

VARIATION:   Add 1 c. shelled/cleaned fresh crab meat + 1 c. extra chicken/seafood broth.  Mmmm.

DIRECTIONS:  In a large soup pot, over medium-high heat, brown the bacon.  Add the Louisiana “Holy Trinity” (celery, bell pepper and onion) to the pot and saute until they begin to soften.  Add sausage and saute, crumbling as you do so.  Add kale, garlic and the four spices.  Lower heat to medium.  Add shrimp and saute until opaque.  Add chicken (or seafood) stock, white wine, and cream.   When returns to a simmer, lower heat to lowest setting.  Add tomatoes and simmer about 10 minutes.  Some like this stage of thickening from the cream.  But if you like your cream soups a bit thicker, add the light sprinkle of xanthan gum.  Alternately, if you like more broth in your soup, or ned to stretch this out for more servings (it was a bit thick with “solids”) you can always add 1-2 more cups of chicken stock to the pot.  If you do add more broth, you will definitely want to use a thickener.  Simmer a few minutes longer for the thickener to go to work.  Pour into a soup tureen and serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 servings (as written), each containing:

382 cals, 31g fat, 7.01g carbs, 1.53g fiber, 5.48g NET CARBS, 16.3g protein, 410mg sodium

14 thoughts on “Shrimp and Sausage Bisque

  1. Made this for dinner tonight. Hubby went for seconds and neither kiddo complained which makes it a four star recipe in my house! Lol.

    I used a full pound of shrimp. I didn’t have kale or parsley so I just used all cilantro. I thought I had thyme but I didn’t, so I just used a pinch extra of Tony Chacherie Cajun seasoning.

    Even with the substitutions it was pretty amazing to my whole family. Thank you.

    1. WONDERFUL! Yes, it’s a good thing when the hubs likes a dish, but when the kiddoes like a recipe, that’s something to celebrate! 🙂

  2. Sounds lovely…..is the bacon the “sausage” , in the recipe.title?? Thanks Susie

    On Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 7:47 PM Buttoni’s Low-Carb Recipes Peggy posted: “I made the most scrumptious seafood bisque tonight for > dinner. It was ready in just 1 hour, too! I wanted to make seafood gumbo, > but I didn’t have okra in the freezer and gumbo just isn’t gumbo to me > without okra. So I pulled out my trust gumbo recipe ” >

  3. Hi! This sounds so yummy. I have a question though. You titled the recipe Shrimp and Sausage Bisque but the recipe doesn’t have any sausage listed. Did it get accidentally omitted from the recipe? Thanks.

    1. Oops! Yes, it did get accidentally overlooked, Renee. There’s 6 oz. breakfast sausage in this and I have now added it with the sequential note in the directions for when to add it. Thanks for catching my omission. The sausage IS included in the nutritional numbers already. If you try this, I hope you like it. It was marvelous and I’m having the leftovers for lunch today. 🙂

      1. Made this tonight. Just loved it! Like you with your gumbo, I was shy a couple of ingredients. I used condensed cream of chicken soup and spinach in lieu of the chicken broth, heavy cream and kale. And no white wine since I can’t have it. But it turned out delicious. This is definitely a keeper! Can’t wait to try it with everything proper.

    1. Oops, I corrected that now with a note of when to add in the directions. Another reader caught the omission also. This stuff was delicious and I hope you’ll try it sometime!

Leave a Comment