Cucumber Salad with Hemp Seed Oil-Ranch® Dressing

I have recently found cold-pressed organic hemp seed oil in my local Walmart (Carrington Frams brand).  I have read that it (along with flax seed oil) is one of nature’s perfect healthy oils, with a near perfect balance of Omega 3 and Omega 6 oil and other needed amino acids.  To get the daily needed balance, you would only have to consume 2-4 tsp. a day.  A serving of my Ranch®-like dressing here has 3 tsp. (1 T.) per serving, so job done!  I didn’t find the oil to have much flavor, slightly nutty, which reminded me of the taste of flax oil.  I plan to keep it in the refrigerator to prevent its going rancid so fast ( as flax seed oil does).   This will add yet another delicious, healthy oil to my arsenal of oils for salads.  DO NOT HEAT/COOK with this oil as it loses a lot of nutrients if heated.  This recipe is suitable for all Atkins phases, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo.

Our latest LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, Volume 8 and soon-to-be-released Volume 9 are almost exclusively comprised of my recipes!  Included are a few tasty new creations of my friends George Stella and Jennifer Eloff.   EARLY BIRD SECRET SALE!!  For estimated October delivery on Vol. 9, order it or any of our cookbooks at https://amongfriends.us/Secret-SALE.php or at AmazonLIMITED TIME SPECIAL OFFER:  Currently we have a special offer on a bundle of all 8 previous volumes that reduces their individual price to only $13.22!  Don’t miss out on this incredible bargain!

INGREDIENTS:

1 c. cut up cucumber

6 tiny San Marzano tomatoes, cut into pieces (or cherry tomatoes)

2 T. hemp seed oil

2 T. red wine vinegar

2 tsp. my Ranch® Powder blend

Dash salt

DIRECTIONS:  Mix last 4 ingredients in a small ramekin and stir well.  Cut cucumber and tomato up and place in small serving bowl.  Drizzle dressing over all and stir well.  Chill 30 minutes and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 servings, each contains:

21 cals, 0.15g fat, 3.95g carbs, 1.2g fiber, 2.75g NET CARBS (dressing is about 1g of the 2.75g), 0g protein, trace sodium

Leave a Comment