Pumpkin Coconut Ice Cream

0023-1

Well, after 10 years of low-carbing, adding untold oddball ingredients to sugar-free ice cream to try to keep it soft over time to scoop, as I said pretty much in my last ice cream post, I’ve now given up on ever attaining scoopable ice cream after 24 hours in the freezer. Blogger after blogger swears they have found the answer!!  But every time I try their recipes, I’ve always ended up with the same result: a hard brick of ice cream you can’t scoop the next day.  So from now on, I either make a half recipe or we eat our serving of ice cream the day I make it and the rest gets made up as frozen ice cream bars, which are a bit more manageable when they are hard.

Anyway, this pumpkin-coconut ice cream I made up yesterday came out delicious!  I went pretty heavy on the pumpkin and spices because that’s the flavor I wanted to be the strongest.  If you love coconut more than we do, you might want to use more of the coconut cream and less of the heavy cream in yours. My hubby isn’t too fond of coconut and I’m not so crazy about it too often either.   This recipe is not suitable until you reach the Atkins “nuts and seeds” rung of the Phase 2 OWL carb ladder.  Ketoers can enjoy this one and so can Primal devotees if they use alternative sweeteners that are plan-suitable.

Our latest two LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS cookbooks, Volume 8 and Volume 9 are almost exclusively comprised of my recipes!  Included in both editions are a few tasty new creations of my dear friends George Stella and Jennifer Eloff.   EARLY BIRD SECRET SALE!!  Special pricing and limited-time free shipping so hurry and place your order.  Or you can order these or any of our cookbooks at https://amongfriends.us/Secret-SALE.php.  When you purchase our books, we would sure appreciate you stopping by Amazon to leaving a review at this site

INGREDIENTS:

1 can (2 c.) pumpkin puree

8 oz. coconut cream

2 c. heavy cream

1 T. blackstrap molasses (or ¼ tsp. maple extract for lower carbs)

½ tsp. cinnamon

¼ tsp. each nutmeg and cloves

½ c. sugar equivalent of your preferred sweetener (I used powdered erythritol)

1 pkt. stevia (I use Sweet Leaf)

DIRECTIONS:  Mix all the ingredients but sweetener in a bowl of a food processor until well blended.  Add sweetener slowly.  Taste for sweetness level and adjust as needed until just right.  Transfer the mixture to your ice cream maker and freeze per the machine’s instructions.  Serve immediately (preferably) and with the remainder, make ice cream bars if you have molds.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 10 level ½ cup servings, each contains:

227 cals, 24g fat, 7.84g carbs, 1.86g fiber, 5.98g NET CARBS (lower if you use maple extract), 1.53g  protein, 25 mg sodium

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Coconut Ice Cream

  1. I made this and tried some today. It was in the freezer for 36 hours so it was hard but it softened up nicely. I added 1/4 tsp. ginger to the spices when I made it, otherwise I made it as stated. I couldn’t taste the coconut cream and I think that its high fat content helped to balance the water content of the pumpkin, making a very rich, smooth delicious ice cream. Another winner! Thanks!

  2. Sadly, I have to agree with your findings on the hard as a rock problem but to be honest, I had this problem even in my high carb days – I just didn’t make homemade ice cream as often. I’ve taken to freezing my ice cream in single serving size containers. If I remember to take it out of the freezer before I sit down for dinner, they are usually about the right texture by the time I finish. If not, one minute on 10% power in the microwave makes it right. This recipe sounds great – will be trying it soon!

Leave a Comment