Greek Chicken & Spinach

Greek Chicken & Spinach

This chicken I’ve made for many years, but tonight I got the idea to add bacon to this dish and well,  we really liked that addition!  This goes well with a Greek salad but I have served it with broccoli and sauteed leeks as well.  I make my own Cavender’s Greek Seasoning, but you can use Cavender’s no-salt Seasoning if available.  Otherwise, just black pepper, thyme and oregano.  This recipe is Induction friendly.

This dish doesn’t freeze too well as the homemade mayo tends to separate upon freezing and reheating.

INGREDIENTS:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

10 oz. pkg. frozen spinach

½ c. Feta cheese, crumbled and rinsed well with cold water in strainer.

2 oz. onion, chopped

¼ Parmesan cheese

pinch dill

1 c. total my homemade mayonnaise:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2009/07/27/homemade-mayonnaise/

4 slices finely chopped bacon

½ tsp. my homemade Cavender’s Greek Seasoning

½ c. crushed plain pork rinds

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 400º.  Cut chicken breasts in half, making 8 pieces.  Using 1/4 c. of the mayo, baste each piece of chicken on both sides and set aside.  If using whole pieces of bone-in chicken, make several slits in the flesh with a knife first to speed up cooking time.  In a medium bowl, stir spinach, Feta cheese, chopped onion, dill and Cavender’s seasoning.  Add 3/4 c. of the mayo and stir well.

Pour spinach mixture into baking dish (no need to grease pan).   Now place chicken pieces on top of the spinach mixture.  Sprinkle pork rinds and Parmesan over the pieces of chicken.  Place the finely chopped bacon over entire dish, being sure some gets on each piece of chicken.    Place in 400º oven and bake for about 1 hour 15 minutes.   For a faster-cooking dish that will be ready in only 45 minutes, pound chicken breasts with mallet before brushing with mayo.   This dish is chock full of nutrients, including 168% of selenium, 129% vitamin B12, 110% riboflavin recommended daily requirements!  And lots more other good stuff!

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 4 servings of 2 pieces of chicken each.  Each serving contains:

734 calories, 63.5 g  fat, 5.25 g  carbs, 2.75 g  fiber, 2.40 g  NET CARBS, 46.6 g  protein, 655 mg. sodium

2 thoughts on “Greek Chicken & Spinach

  1. Hi Peggy, I just want to take the opportunity to do a couple things.

    First, to say how much I LOVE your recipes and your faithfulness in posting them. (and I’m sure it has nothing to do with being a fellow Texan )

    Second, I use MasterCook recipe software, and your formatting has never allowed me to download your recipes directly into my cookbooks. I’ve been “copy and pasting” because while it’s more cumbersome, the recipes are worth saving! But whatever you did when you gave your site its last facelift, not only is it very attractive, but now I can instantly download them! WOOHOO! Life is sweet! Third (okay, more than “a couple” things), THANK YOU for not bombarding your audience with your political views. So disappointing the number of bloggers who believe that they are required to hop on a bandwagon whenever one rolls by. I realize you have your own opinions, as I do, but recipe sharing is not where I expect to get lectured. So again, thank you…you wouldn’t believe the number of emails I have unsubbed from in the last 2 days and I’m so pleased not to add yours to the list.

    Hope you and your family are all staying safe and healthy.~~Jan

    1. Hello, fellow Texan! Jan, I really appreciate you taking the time to tell me your feelings. Yeah, I get tired of all the political crap, too. I’ve always felt strongly that recipe sharing sites would just be that, recipes (maybe a story about how it came about) and that’s it. Heck, if the free accounts didn’t force some ads, I sure wouldn’t have those either. Won’t let other websites/companies try to jump in on my site, though many have asked. My world should be MY world. 🙂

      I’m so glad the new theme I chose allows you to direct download. I actually liked the old theme better, but needed more visible links and the blue really stands out on this theme. Don’t care for the red recipe titles on the home page scroll screen, but they go black on the actual recipe’s page when opened. Life’s a trade-off I suppose. But the links stand out so much better on this theme, still allows me unlimited categories at the right, has the 5-tabs at the top and best of all, IT’S FREE! I like free. 🙂

      It’s very scary out there, Coronavirus, marches, riots and all. So you folks stay safe, too. And happy cooking during these otherwise strange times.

Leave a Comment