Einkorn Blueberry Crumble

IMG_5056.JPG

I’m having some back issues of late.  Can’t stand up for very long, so my time-consuming baking efforts will likely wane for awhile.  But I have a kitchen island with comfy bar chairs and I can sure sit and cook, have the hubs put the pan in the oven and pull it out when it’s done!  I don’t need any assistance with eating my fair share though.  😉

My husband pointed out today we had a carton of blueberries at the back of the fridge so I decided to make some sort of simple crisp or crumble fruit baked dish.  My husband set the oven, greased my baking dish and rounded up the ingredients from my pantry (bending and stooping is an issue, too). I was able to do most of the rest, with the added help of regular heavy doses of ibuprofen all week long.

This was my first time using Swerve® sweetener and I was at a loss there.  It didn’t have any funny aftertaste sampled on my finger, nor in the final crumble dish that I could detect.  It is worthy of further experimenting in my opinion.  Just followed the info on the back of the packaging and it came out pretty close to my taste preference.  But honestly, it wasn’t quite sweet enough with 2 Tbsp. and I have therefore adjusted the recipe below for what should be better next baking.  The crumble topping was successful and the final dessert came out quite tasty.

Blueberries are a little higher in carbs, so if you are still in the Induction phase of the diet, use strawberries or raspberries instead. To lower carbs further, omit the Einkorn flour totally.  I simply adds a nice flour taste and pastry texture that almond flour alone can’t do.   🙂  This recipe is not suitable until you have reached the nuts and berries level of Phase 2 Atkins.  It’s a little high carb for Keto diets.  This is not suitable for Primal-Paleo plans.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ c. fresh blueberries

3/4 c. Jennifer Eloff’s Splendid Gluten-Free Bake Mix (or other low-carb mix)

2 T. Einkorn flour

3 T. Swerve® sweetener (or equivalent sweetener to equal 3 T. sugar)

2 T. oat fiber

1 large egg

3 T. butter

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Rub butter lightly on a 6″ square baking dish and set dish aside.  Put rest of the butter in a medium bowl.  Add all the dry ingredients on top of the butter.  Using a fork or pastry cutter, cut the butter into the dry mixture until it resembles coarse cornmeal.  Add the egg on top, beat it with a fork and slowly work it into a dough with the dry ingredients.  Using a fork or your fingers, crumble the dough evenly on top of the fruit.  Pop into preheated 350º oven and bake for about 20-23 minutes or until lightly browned on the top.  Slightly cool and enjoy warm.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

240 cals, 18 g fat, 20.25 g carbs, 7.12 g fiber, 13.13 g NET CARBS, 13 g protein, 46 mg sodium

Leave a Comment