Sausage-Mushroom Pizza

I made an absolutely scrumptious pizza this week with my new nut-free pizza crust. I have been craving pizza ever since I was reminded of my favorite pizza place back in Denton, TX when I was a freshman in college. Their sausage-mushroom pizzas were so good, I would order one of these to be delivered to the dorm every other week. Back then, I could eat whatever I wanted without gaining weight. Sigh, those times are past. The place has since gone out of business, I recently learned, which saddened me greatly. Decided I’d try to duplicate the flavor I remember and the result was quite close!

My resurrection was very good. My husband is a pizza ‘Supreme’ or bust kind of guy, but even he admitted this one with just the two toppings was really different and quite tasty. I’ll definitely be making this one again! It’s so nice when you can nearly duplicate a taste memory. This pizza is not suitable until you reach the ‘grains’ rung of the Atkins carb reintroduction ladder.

INGREDIENTS:

1 recipe my Einkorn Nut-Free Pizza Crust (or favorite low-carb crust)

½ c. your favorite low-carb pizza sauce

1½ c. mozzarella cheese shreds

6 oz. breakfast pork sausage

4 large mushrooms, sliced thin

¼ tsp. oregano

½ tsp. fennel seed, crushed

1 small clove garlic, minced

2 T. grated Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS: Make your crust per that recipe’s instruction, up to the pre-cooked, ready to top stage. Set pan aside. Brown the sausage just to ‘no-longer-pink’ stage in a skillet over low heat. Add spices, garlic and cook 1-2 minutes longer for flavors to blend. Remove sausage to paper plate. Add sliced mushrooms and sauté on low heat until they are no longer opaque. Don’t overcook them! Preheat oven to 350º.

Spread pizza sauce in a very thin layer over the crust. You want the sausage and mushrooms to shine on this particular pizza, not the sauce. Evenly spread the mozzarella shreds over the sauced crust. Next sprinkle the meat mixture evenly on top. Lay mushrooms slices as evenly as possible on top next. Finish off with a sprinkling of the 2 T. Parmesan cheese. Pop your pizza into a 350º oven and bake around 15-20 minutes, being careful to check once to avoid over-browning of toppings and crust edges. Serve with a nice green salad and you’re ready for a real treat!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:

327 Cals, 21g fat, 11g carbs, 2g fiber, 9g NET CARBS, 24g. protein, 642 mg sodium

Leave a Comment