Einkorn Nut-Free Pizza Crust

Shown with sausage and mushroom toppings.

I have modified my Einkorn Pizza Crust recipe to accommodate my new low-oxalate diet because of a recent calcium oxalate kidney stone. I was told to reduce my nut/nut flour intake. Who knows if maybe all the almond flour I’ve been baking with this past 14 years of low-carbing (and heavy spinach/kale use) brought on the stone to begin with?! Guess I’ll never know.

I shall call this one my nut-free pizza crust. I actually think these changes have resulted in my best pizza crust to date that also happens to be nut free! Isn’t that nice for folks who can’t eat nuts!? Almonds are very high in oxalates, so I eliminated the 1½ c. almond flour completely from the original recipe, substituted in egg white protein for the whey protein (which adds more crust structure), and also added 1 tsp. psyllium fiber for even more dough strength. My husband thought this was a much better crust than my old recipe so it’s a keeper for us. I will leave my original recipe up for people who prefer not to eat ANY flour products whatsoever, even though ancient Einkorn wheat has been shown to be much healthier for you than genetically modified modern wheat and appears to not bother celiac people very much. This recipe is not suitable until you reach the grains rung of the Atkins Phase 2 Carb Reintroduction ladder.

INGREDIENTS:

3 T. softened cream cheese

2 large eggs

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 T. heavy cream

1 T. tap water

½ c. shredded mozzarella cheese

1 c. shredded Monterey Jack Cheese (or use more mozzarella)

½ c. Einkorn all-purpose white flour (I order Jovial Foods on-line)

¼ c. golden flax meal

½ scoop (29 g.) egg white protein powder (I use NOW)

1 tsp. aluminum free baking powder

1 tsp. psyllium husk powder (I use NOW)

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.  Line pizza pan with parchment. Soften cream cheese in mixing bowl in your microwave on defrost for about 20 seconds. Stir and add in eggs, cider vinegar, cream and water. Beat and blend well. Add shredded cheeses. Measure in the dry ingredients on top and stir well with rubber spatula to be sure it is uniformly mixed.  Transfer to parchment lined pan and spread with water moistened spatula to rectangular or round shape. Pop into preheated oven and bake for about 13 minutes to dry off the surface of the bread and partially cook it.  Remove and top with your favorite toppings.  Place back in oven and continue baking for about 20 minutes, but check it at 15 min. as ovens vary. Cut into 8 slices and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 slices, each contains:

167 cals, 11g fat, 7g carbs, 2g fiber, 5g NET CARBS, 10g protein, 284 mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Einkorn Nut-Free Pizza Crust

  1. What a timely recipe for me! I was hospitalized with a horrific kidney stone bout in June and recently had laser surgery to remove 6 large stones from my kidney. I’m going a little bit nuts trying to track oxalates, calcium, salt, and water every day. Giving up almond flour, spinach, peanut butter, and other favorites and trying to get enough calcium without nuts, seeds, and dark leafy greens is an adventure, to say the least. So thank you for this much-needed recipe. I have everything I need to make it tomorrow–I’ll be back with a review!

    1. HI! Diana! Long time no see/hear! Hope you and yours are well, all things societal/political we are dealing with. Sorry to hear you’ve joined the kidney stone club. Holy Moses………..six of them! The 84 y.o. lady in the ER the same night as me had 14! My stent surgeon mentioned it to me. Mine was small and I only had one, thank the Lord. What we have to reduce on the stone-former diet really doesn’t speak to a low-carber’s typical menu, does it? Giving up kale and spinach are not something I’m willing to do. I’ve reduced them to only serving occasionally and in small amounts in recipes. I try to introduce calcium-rich dairy (creaming them or adding cheese/yogurt to the dish) so I still enjoy them once in awhile. I already limit salt and, of course) sugar, so no changes there for me. I was never a big peanut butter fan, but eat the occasional PBJ sandwich (maybe once a month). I’ve decided I’m not going to let the kidney stone diet rule my life, but will reduce the no-no foods greatly and increase water intake.

      I hope you like this crust, Diana! I was VERY pleased with it for the occasional pizza. I’m not a big fan of pizza, but this one is a keeper for me.

Leave a Comment