Eggplant Lasagna

When I have an eggplant on hand, I often make this layered lasagna-type dish with it.  Comes out real tasty every time.  Doesn’t get more Italian than something like this tasty treat. 

This dish is Induction friendly if you can fit the carbs into your day.  🙂  I find with all the cheese, this dish is salty enough without added salt. This is not a particularly large recipe, so if you want extra for some to be leftover for freezing, I would recommend doubling the recipe.  This recipe is not suitable until Atkins Phase 2 OWL.  It is suitable for Primal if you eat occasional dairy, but not for Paleo due to the cheese.

INGREDIENTS:

10 oz. eggplant

1 T. olive oil

1 c. low-carb spaghetti sauce with meat  (I use homemade, my recipe here:

4 oz. mozzarella cheese, grated

4 T. Parmesan cheese

1/3 c. ricotta cheese

4 fresh basil leaves, chopped (or ¼ tsp. dried)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 400º.  Stem the eggplant and slice into ¼” slices.  Oil sheet pan with olive oil and place each slice on sheet, coating both sides of them with oil as you go.  Bake until eggplant is nearly done, turning once (takes about 8-10 minutes on a side.  Remove from oven and lower heat to 350º.  Layer half the eggplant slices on the bottom of a well oiled baking dish.  Spoon half the spaghetti sauce over the top.  Evenly spread all the ricotta cheese on next.  Now sprinkle on half the mozzarella followed by 2 T. of the Parmesan.  Spread the chopped basil on next.  Now place the remaining slices of eggplant on top, reserving out one nice slice to decorate the top of the dish.  Add the remaining sauce. Sprinkle on the remaining mozzarella and then the Parmesan cheese.  Place the last slice of eggplant center dish and pop into 350º oven for around 30 minutes, until hot and bubbly.  Garnish with colorful fresh basil leaves if desired.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

294.3 cals, 19.7g fat, 11.13g carbs, 3.65g fiber, 7.48g NET CARBS, 19g protein, 250 mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Eggplant Lasagna

    1. I’m sorry you’re not getting my links to work, Patty. That can certainly be irritating. There are no links in this particular recipe, however, for me to test one for you. If you can tell me a particular recipe with an embedded link I can test that again here on my end. Nobody else has been complaining about links though, so I suspect there is some software issue (or phone hardware issue) at your end that is causing the problem for you. When opening up a recipe on my site, you DO have to click the actual title to open it up fully.

      I cannot step in and unsubscribe you from the mail list. You must do this yourself, per WordPress support, by opening up any email from my site and scrolling down to the “unsubscribe” button inside an email. That should unsubscribe you within a few hours or so, if you truly want to stop getting direct recipes from my site.

Leave a Comment