Grilled Cheese Sandwich

 

This popular all-American sandwich everyone knows how to make already!  So why in the heck would I be posting a “recipe” for a grilled cheese sandwich!!!?  Well………………sadly, most low-carb breads (made with alternate flours) simply do not toast well.  A low-carber must resign oneself to this slowly learned fact  along their journey.  Alternate flours just won’t get (or stay) toasty!!!  I’ve tried and tried, but I, too, have not reached grilled-cheese Nirvana……………………… until now.

This bread recipe toasts better  than any other low-carb bread I’ve tried to grill/toast in many years of low-carbing and bread experiments.   Not sure which ingredient is facilitating the crisping up, but I suspect it’s the oat fiber.  Whatever, I am VERY glad  it seems to toast quite nicely.  This grilled cheese sandwich is reminiscent of the ones you grew up on.

Don’t go off on me on my nutritional numbers.  I have checked and rechecked them several times since my original posting and they ARE correct.  We just have to accept it folks, low-carb breads (and cheese) are high in fat AND calories!!  I mean it IS cheese, butter and bread, after all.  How could it NOT be high in calories?  Do the math on your preferred food tracker and you’ll see these numbers are correct.   🙂

You can bake this in any microwaveable square container.  I bake this bread in a 5″ square glass dish I bought expressly for single-slice bread baking.  I have not tried baking this bread in a conventional oven, but suspect it would need 350º for around 10-15 minutes or so to properly cook.  One recipe can be sliced laterally into two thinner slices of bread after cooling.  That is what is shown above, creating 1 sandwich. his recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.  It is not suitable for Primal-Paleo lifestyles.

INGREDIENTS:

¼ c. + 1T. golden flax meal

1 T. butter + 1T more for grilling

2 T. sour cream

1 egg, beaten

½ tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. oat fiber (for gluten-free, must be made from 100% gluten-free oats)

Pinch salt

1 slice American Deluxe cheese

DIRECTIONS:   Melt 1 T. of the butter in microwave in a small mixing bowl.  Add beaten egg and sour cream. Add all dry ingredients and stir well.  Dip or scrape batter into a 5″ square microwaveable container and microwave on HI for 70 seconds or until dry to touch in center. Cool a minute and tip out onto cutting board.  Laterally slice as evenly as possible with a long knife.  Melt a little butter on non-stick griddle and baste one side of each slice of bread.  Place one slice on griddle, buttered side down.  Add 1 slice of your preferred cheese (I use American or Swiss) and top with second slice of bread, buttered side up.  Brown well on both sides.  The browner it is the crisper it will get.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 sandwich which contains:

617 cals, 56.1g fat, 17.7g carbs, 13.2g fiber, 4.5g NET CARBS, 19g protein, 756 mg sodium

Leave a Comment