Einkorn Loaf Bread

As I stated in my last post, I tend towards single serve and individual rolls when I bake breads.  But when I do want a loaf of bread to serve more people than two, I tend to reach for this recipe.  It was a modification of my Lupin Flour Bread recipe (when I learned I’m allergic to lupin flour). 

My husband even likes this one, and he’s real hard to please with low-carb bread.  It has a nice chewy mouth feel one finds in a good traditional yeast bread.  I even included some dissolved yeast but I think it only impacts flavor, not rise, as the boiling water the psyllium requires would kill the yeast rising action for sure.  There’s not enough gluten in 2 T. Einkorn flour for proper yeast “action” anyway.  But this inclusion does give a little yeast taste.

This loaf slices into fourteen ½” slices or twenty-eight ¼” slices.  Yes, this bread has enough structure to be able to slice it into ¼” slices!  WOO HOO!  It doesn’t rise too high, so the sandwiches are small, but at 1.12 g net carbs per thinner slice, who cares?  Eat two sandwiches if that’s what it takes to fill up!  🙂

It doesn’t toast much better than most low-carb breads, so I use this mostly for sandwiches and making croutons.  But the crust toasts quite nicely.  

I order my non-GMO Einkorn flour direct from Jovial Foods.  Some have found it in Safeway and other stores right on the shelf, but I’ve not been so lucky.  It’s not as expensive as some low-carb baking ingredients.  Einkorn is real, ancient wheat, that has not been hybridized.  I use only the tiniest amounts in the occasional baked goods recipes.  It brings so much texture and flavor for few carbs.  This recipe is not suitable until you are near goal weight (Pre-Maintenance).

DRY INGREDIENTS:

½ c. almond flour

2 T. Einkorn flour

½ c. egg white protein powder (I use NOW brand)

2 T. oat fiber

2 T. coconut flour

1 T. baking powder

2 T. golden flax meal

¼ tsp. sea salt

3 T. psyllium husk powder (I use NOW brand)

WET INGREDIENTS:

1 tsp. dry yeast dissolved in 2 T. warm water + 1 tsp. sugar (consumed by yeast)

5 large eggs, beaten

3 T. olive oil

¼ c. egg whites (I used the the carton whites)

½ c. boiling water (added last)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease or oil a standard 5×8″ loaf pan and set aside.  Dissolve yeast in 2 T. warm water and add a tiny pinch sugar.  Set aside.  In a large mixing bowl, measure out all dry ingredients.  Stir well.  In another medium bowl, add the first 4 wet ingredients (all but the boiling water) and beat with a fork.  Add the dissolved yeast mixture to the wet ingredients and stir.   Now add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and beat well using a rubber spatula. Slowly add the boiling water to the batter and using a whisk, beat until smooth of lumps.  Whisk thoroughly as this is what creates a smoother crust.  Spoon batter into greased loaf pan and bake at 350º for 30 minutes and test for doneness with toothpick.   If not done, cook 5-10 minutes longer.  Remove from oven and in a few minutes, tip onto board to finish cooling.  Stats below are calculated for 14 slices ½” thick.  I will also provide numbers for entire loaf so that you can figure out your own for the number of slices you choose to cut.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: 

Entire loaf:  1480 calories, 102.8 g  fat, 78.4 g  carbs, 47.2 g  fiber,  31.2 g  NET CARBS,     58.2 g  protein, 2669 mg sodium

If cut in 14 slices, ½”, @ contains: 106 calories, 7.3 g  fat, 5.60 g  carbs, 3.37 g  fiber, 2.23 g  NET CARBS, 4.15 g  protein, 191 mg sodium

If cut in 28 slices, ¼”, @ contains:  53 calories, 3.67 g fat, 2.8 g carbs, 1.68 g fiber, 1.12 g NET CARBS, 2.07 g protein, 95 mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Einkorn Loaf Bread

  1. looks like a great recipe! can you tell me how you get the slices so perfectly uniform? I use a thing you put the bread in but those slices are thick and thin! TIA

    1. Welcome, Jeanne. Well, I wait until the bread is cooled completely to slice (which is truly difficult to do. Sometimes my photos are missing one slice as a result, as I like bread hot with butter. 😉 What can I say. Beyond that, it takes a long, serrated bread knife, a keen eye and a steady hand. No tricks here. 🙂

Leave a Comment