Spicy Onion Rings

Click to enlarge

Taking that coating shown on my last post of Oven-Fried Summer Squash, I took this coating to a Nirvana level for my husband.  I am not as crazy about onion rings as my husband is.  He has always just LOVED them!  That’s all he keeps talking about this week, so I think I’m going to have to cook him a batch of these soon.  😉  These are actually oven-baked instead of fried, so there’s no greasy mess on the stove to deal with after preparing these.  Such deliciousness, so I hope you’ll try these soon.  I think you will like them!

I will admit up front they are not as easily hand-held as traditional batter-fried rings.  No surprise there with an overall thinner coating used….but that’s how I keep them low-carb.   On the up side, the coating does brown nicely and is very crunchy.  Only the smallest diameter rings cut from the ends of the onion can be picked up by hand easily.  You just have to place the larger ones onto your plate and use a fork to eat those.  For me, that beats adding coconut flour to the picture, which I am NOT fond of at all.  I’ll have to test adding some other lower carb flour or maybe a few bread crumbs to the coating to see if that improves the “holdability” of these rings.  So many ideas; so little time, I think is the saying.  These tasty rings are Atkins Induction friendly!

INGREDIENTS:

8 oz. onion cut into ½” rings

2 oz. plain pork rinds, crushed very fine

3/4 tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend

4 T. my homemade mayo

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 450º.  You will need a large, preferably non-stick baking sheet to bake these.  Slice onion and separate rings until you have 8 oz.  That’s about 16 medium ½” rings.  Parboil for 1 minute in boiling water and lift out onto paper towels to totally dry. Crush pork rinds very fine in processor, blender or by hand.  Remove any larger, hard bits that are invariably in pork rinds when you crush them.  Mix spice into crushed rinds in a small bowl.  In a shallow dish or pie plate, pour the 4T. mayo.    Slowly dip an onion ring into the mayo, coating the outside and the inside (with your finger if necessary.  Then drop them into the pork rinds and coat well outside and inside.  Lay each onto the baking sheet.     Repeat until all rings have been coated.  Pop into 450º oven for about 25 minutes.  They tend to brown more and faster on the bottom where they touch the pan, so you will want to turn them over at the 15 minute mark.  Not much grease so no draining is necessary.  Lift onto serving platter and ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings of 2 0z. each.  Each serving contains:

196 cals., 15.6g fat, 5.1g carbs, 0.53g fiber, 4.57g  NET CARBS, 9.5 g  protein, 271 mg sodium

Leave a Comment