Barley Flour Hot Dog Buns

I have been experimenting today with my Gluten-Free Hamburger Bun recipe.  Having had my first kidney stone in December, the diet they gave me to follow to help prevent formation of future stones says I need to reduce my intake of foods high in oxalates, which includes nuts, nut flours and wheat products.  Well, I already use minimal wheat products.  When I do, I use Einkorn wheat, which is not genetically modified.  But I’m starting to test replacing almond flour, CarbQuik and Einkorn wheat from my baked goods with barley flour, which is a better choice me.  Bob’s Red Mill has small bags and Honeyville carries it in bulk.  Another plus with barley flour is it is neutral in flavor.  It is also low in oxalates that I must now try to eliminate everywhere I can.  My husband has also had one kidney stone, so this low-oxalate diet is a must for both of us now.    Hardest part for me to reduce is spinach……probably the highest oxalate food there is.     

My favorite hamburger bun recipe contains almond flour, so I baked it today subbing in the barley flour for the almond flour and the whey protein in that recipe.  Sandwich buns are a staple in my kitchen.  A quick sandwich is our preferred lunch most days.  Creating a bread that is moist, sturdy, tasty and meets my husband’s strict requirements, being a staunch bakery fan, has been difficult.  These are very neutral in flavor and absolutely do not drown out the flavor of your grilled burgers like so many low-carb breads do.   They are so sturdy they do not break apart under the heat of the hot franks inside.  That says a lot right there!  They achieve this sturdiness NOT at the price of “moist” either.  They are not the slightest bit dense, “dry” or difficult to swallow.  These are very soft just like real hamburger buns!    

For those familiar with my Gluten-Free Grain Free Focaccia Bread recipe, that batter is my inspiration for these.

These buns are not suitable for Atkins Induction, but are acceptable once you get to Phase 2 OWL nuts and seeds level of the carb re-introduction ladder.  They are also suitable for other Ketogenic diets and Primal followers if dairy is occasionally consumed.  These buns are not suitable for a Paleo lifestyle due to multiple dairy ingredients.

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 c. barley flour

¼ c. golden flax meal

2 tsp. baking powder

3 T. plain yogurt (or softened cream cheese)

2 large eggs

1½ c. mozzarella cheese shreds

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 T. heavy cream

1 tsp. dry yeast + 1 tsp. sugar (consumed by yeast) dissolved in 2 T. warm water

Poppy or Sesame seeds (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Soften cream cheese (if using) in medium mixing bowl in microwave or add the yogurt to the bowl.  Add the dissolved yeast/water mixture.  Beat in the eggs, cream, water, vinegar.  Measure and add in all the dry ingredients and stir well.  Fold in the mozzarella cheese with a rubber spatula until well mixed.   It will thicken as you fold.  Divide batter evenly amongst six hot dog mold slots.  I use a silicone mold for my hot dog buns, so no need to grease it.  

Using a 1/3 c. measuring cup, scoop up 1/3 c. batter and fill each of your 6 molds, spreading the batter evenly with the back of a fork to fill the slots level.  You’ll need to use your finger or a tiny rubber spatula to get all the batter out of the measuring cup, most likely.  Batter will be about ½” thick in the molds.  If you run short of batter, even it out to make 6 total.  Sprinkle on sesame or poppy seeds if you wish before baking.  Pop pan into a 350º oven and bake 20-22 minutes or until done to the touch in the center and lightly browned on tops.  Cool a few minutes.  Slip them out of the molds with a knife tip.  When totally cooled, slice carefully for receiving your cooked franks.  Store any leftover in a plastic bag in your refrigerator.  

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 hotdog buns, each contains:   (doesn’t include seed topping, if used) 

228 cals, 10g fat, 18g carbs, 3g fiber, 15g NET CARBS, 11g protein, 347 mg sodium 

 

Leave a Comment