Chorizo-Stuffed Pattypan Squash

Normally I shy away from chorizo.   The commercial stuff can be very greasy and is usually way too heavy with spices for me.  But what I created for our lunch today with the chorizo I get from my grass-fed beef supplier (actually made by Eades Meat Market up in Amarillo) was anything but!  These little stuffed pattypan squash were delightful tasty and not the slightest bit greasy or spicy with the chorizo in my opinion.  This delicious recipe will be a keeper in my house whenever I can get my hands on pattypan squash.  You almost have to grow it yourself to find it where I live.  This dish can be served either as an entrée or a side.  These are suitable for Atkins once you get to phase 2 and can be eaten by Keto followers if the carbs fit your daily allowance.  Primal and Paleo folks can enjoy if you use a plan suitable bread or other filler.

VARIATION:   1) Use browned bulk breakfast sausage instead of chorizo.  2) Use zucchini or Mexican zucchini instead of the patty pan squash.

INGREDIENTS: 

4 pattypan (white, scalloped) summer squash

Enough Olive oil to brush tops of squash

6 oz. chorizo sausage

1½ slices my Gluten-Free Focaccia bread (or other low-carb bread on hand)

1 beaten egg  (use ½ c. shredded cheese of choice if egg sensitive)

2 T. my Sofrito sauce

Dash black pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 375º.  Cut the stems off the squash and level the outer bottoms with your knife so they sit flat on a pan.  Slice the pattypan squash in half horizontally, making eight lovely, scalloped pieces.  Place them on a baking sheet and lightly baste with olive oil on the tops.   Bake at 375º until half done when tested with a knife tip, or about 20 minutes.  You’ll prepare the filling while they bake.

For the filling, in a non-stick skillet over medium-hi heat, brown the chorizo lightly, crumbling as you stir it around.  If there is excess grease, spoon a little of it off.  Add a dash of black pepper, the moistened crumbled bread and the sofrito.  Stir to blend ingredients well.  Beat the egg with 1-2 T. water and stir it into the chorizo mixture to bind all together. Stir well.  Mark off the mixture in your pan into 8 portions and top each squash half with an equal portion of mixture.  When the squash is half done, remove from oven.  Lower oven to 350º, top each half with 1/8 the filling mixture.  Pop the pan back in that oven and bake another 20 minutes or until golden on top.  Squash should be fully tender when done.  Enjoy with a green salad or a guacamole salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 stuffed halves.  It will take 2 to fill an adult as an entrée, 1 if a side dish.  Each stuffed half contains:

208 cals, 16.5g fat, 5.35g carbs, 1.63g fiber, 3.75g NET CARBS, 10g protein, 450 mg sodium

5 thoughts on “Chorizo-Stuffed Pattypan Squash

  1. We don’t use most commercial chorizo due to the corn syrup. It is nice you’ve found a supplier who makes delicious chorizo.

    1. I even found a recipe on-line last month for making it at home so you can include just those ingredients you like. It didn’t sound too complicated, so I am definitely going to try it out. Plan to sometime this summer. My husband fell off a 6′ ladder onto concrete last Wednesday and is pretty banged up. Cracked (but didn’t displace) the glenoid bone in his shoulder. Needless to say, I’m staying real busy beyond words, so my trial on chorizo won’t be anytime soon. Lots of doctor appts., home health PT and OT taking up my every free moment.

Leave a Comment