Beef Short Ribs Braised in Root Beer

Years ago I used to buy and cook short ribs a lot.  They were real cheap and ever so tasty braised in liquid.  I find they are more difficult to find in the meat counters these days and fairly pricey when you do.  I often forget about this tasty cut of beef when meat shopping as a result.   I found some recently at my regular meat market and cooked them up in a new liquid……….diet root beer!  I forget how much I love shortribs!  Here’s one of my now favorite ways to prepare short ribs!  And these are OK for Atkins Induction Phase.  I added the carrots (shown in pic) for my hubby, who is not low-carbing as strictly as I am).  This braising recipe is also good for large chunks of beef chuck, pork country style pork ribs cut into large chunks, or with chicken thighs and legs.

INGREDIENTS:

8 meaty beef short ribs or 1 lb. beef chuck roast, cut into large chunks

2 T. olive oil

1 onion, medium, cut into 1″ wedges

3 stalks celery (8″) cut into 1″ pieces

6 cloves garlic, cut into halves

¼ tsp. dried thyme or 3-4 sprigs fresh thyme

2 bay leaves

1 sprig fresh rosemary

½ tsp. cumin seed

3 c. low sodium beef broth

1 can diet root beer  (I use Hansen’s, sweetened with Splenda)

2 star anise (or 1/2 tsp. 5-Spice Powder)

Pinch black pepper

3 drops liquid sweetener

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 300º.   Season ribs with a pinch of black pepper.  In 8 qt. Dutch oven, heat olive oil.  Brown ribs on all sides in batches.  Transfer meat to a plate and pour off excess oil.  Add vegetables and spices.  Cook 3-4 minutes, scraping brown bits loose from the bottom of the pan.  Return meat to pot and add broth and root beer.  Bring to a simmer, cover tightly and place in oven.  Bake until meat is almost falling off the bones (about 2 hours). Using a slotted spoon, transfer ribs to a platter.  Skim off and discard as much fat as you can.  Boil over medium-high heat until liquid is reduced by about half.  Add meat back and spoon liquid over ribs so as to “glaze” them with the sauce.  Simmer about 5 minutes and serve.   Salt to taste at table.

These would be  great with my Chipotle “Sweet Potatoes” or a batch of well-seasoned Mashed Cauliflower.  For those not on Atkins, it’s great with steamed rice.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 4 servings, each with:

707 cals, 45g fat, 7.03g carbs, 0.93g fiber, 6.1g NET CARBS, 67 g  protein

3 thoughts on “Beef Short Ribs Braised in Root Beer

  1. I have never liked rootbeer, even when I was a child. I just bought cream soda, which is a weakness of mine. I wonder if that would take the place of rootbeer in this recipe? Or even Diet Coke? I have an old brisket recipe that has Coke in it. But I haven’t made that in years. Your recipes often get me thinking, lol!

    1. I think the Coke would sub into this OK but I don’t think the cream soda would. That vanilla taste would come through too much, I think.

      1. You’re probably right. Root beer soda has a very distinctive taste. I shudder just thinking about it!

Leave a Comment