Homemade “Cavender’s Greek” Seasoning

Click to enlarge

This is my version of the ever popular Cavender’s Greek Seasoning.  I plan to steam roast a whole chicken tonight for dinner and plan to use this particular spice on this one.  My brother Stephen, a professional chef before he retired, just LOVED his Cavender’s:  in salad dressings, on fish and chicken, and he would even use it on vegetables.  My version is real close to the popular commercial product, but it definitely has a more pronounced garlic/onion flavor and, as with all my spice blends, has no salt in it (I’m very sodium sensitive). I think you’ll  like my version of this delightful blend.  This can be used during all phases of Atkins.  It is also acceptable for other Ketogenic  and Primal Blueprint or Paleo lifestyles.

INGREDIENTS:

1 T. dill seed

1 T. black peppercorns

1 T. dried basil

1 T. dried oregano leaves

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 T. granulated garlic

1 T. granulated onion

1 T. dried parsley flakes

1 T. dried rosemary

2 tsp. dried marjoram leaves

DIRECTIONS:   Mix ingredients in a bowl and transfer to a grinder (or your blender).  This may take several batches if using a dedicated coffee grinder like I use.  You want the blend fairly fine.  Store in an airtight lidded jar in a dark spice cabinet with all your other spices.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes about 9 Tbsp. or 27 tsp.  Each teaspoon contains:

4.6 cals, 0.09 g  fat, 1.0 g  carbs, 0.34 g fiber, 0.66 g  NET CARBS, 1 mg sodium

Leave a Comment