Spicy Cheese Cornbread Loaf

I was asked by my husband to cook a pot of pinto beans and ham with some cornbread tonight.  I don’t like to eat such a carb-y meal, so I only ate a couple boiled eggs and 1/2 avocado during the day in plans for the carb-y dinner tonight.   I modified my Jalapeno-Cheese Bread recipe that has been on my website for years now and changed things up a bit.  I added onion powder and a hefty amount of cayenne pepper, along with a small amount of actual cornmeal.   We both LOVED the result!  This bread is not suitable until you reach Maintenance Phase of Atkins, since it has real cornmeal in it.   

This would probably make up nicely as muffins, too.  Muffins will only take about 15-20 minutes to cook.

The corn flavoring I use is, frankly, whatever brand I can find.   Select Products (who bought out Superior Flavors and then shut down their on-line website later.  Superior Products website will still open for me and may accept orders on certain products.   I use their “Fresh Corn” in their Regular Shop, but you have to get the 8 oz. bottle.   I succeeded in ordering 6 small bottles last time OK.  If you have no success placing an order at that site, try this corn flavoring (I have not personally tried):  https://amoretti.com/products/sweet-corn-extract-ws, try the corn flavoring at Naturesflavors.com (I hear it’s good, but I haven’t tried it yet, myself).

INGREDIENTS:

1½ c. almond flour

2 T. coconut flour

¼ c. golden flax meal

1 T.  baking powder

1½ c. shredded cheddar cheese (or other hard cheese)

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 tsp. granulated onion powder

1/3 c. cornmeal (I use white, but yellow is just fine)

5 eggs, beaten

2 T. coconut oil, melted

2 T. olive oil

1 T. cider vinegar

1 T. + 1 tsp. Fresh Corn flavoring (optional) Source:  selectflavors.com

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease a loaf pan well and set aside.  I highly recommend using a piece of parchment to cradle the batter, as my bread is inclined to stick on the bottom at times, even in a non-stick pan!  I can easily get 10 very thick slices out of this loaf.  For those that use over-long size loaf pans (4″x12″) I have had luck with this recipe using both the extra-long loaf pan, as well as a regular loaf pan.  The longer size will back a flatter loaf; the regular will make a slightly taller loaf.    

Measure all dry ingredients and cheese into a medium measuring bowl, stir and set aside.  Add cheese and stir all dry ingredients together to blend.   Add all liquid ingredients to the mixing bowl and stir to blend.    Using a rubber spatula, scrape batter into greased, preferably parchment-lined also,  loaf pan and pop into preheated oven for 40 minutes in a 5×8″ pan (only 30 min if using a 4″x12″ pan).  Ovens vary, so check center with finger for a dry touch and also do a toothpick test.   Remove and cool in pan a few minutes before attempting to tip out & slice.  Run sharp knife around edges to loosen and gently tip out onto a cutting board. Slice into 10 servings.  

This cornbread should make an outstanding “Cornbread” Stuffing for your holiday turkey, I’m sure.  

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes ten 1/2″ slices, each slice contains: 

284 cals, 22g fat, 9g  carbs, 3g  fiber, 6 g  NET CARBS, 11g  protein, 272 mg sodium

3 thoughts on “Spicy Cheese Cornbread Loaf

  1. Hi, I missed your emails!
    I did not see the cornmeal listed in the ingredients. Is it perhaps the original recipe?
    Thank you!

    1. Oops! Thanks so much for catching my boo-boo, Susan. It’s 1/3 c. cornmeal (I used white) and it WAS already calculated in the recipe stats (I double checked) that appeared at the bottom of the recipe. Seems like no matter how many times I proofread, I manage to miss something. I like to blame it on my age (75), but that’s no excuse………is it? 🙂 Thanks again. And hope you try and like this one! We sure did!

Leave a Comment