Oven-Fried Fish

Oven-Fried Fish

Oven-Fried Fish

I hate standing over a pan of hot, popping grease to do traditional deep frying.  But I do love me some fried fish.  It’s a Southern tradition, fish fries. Wish my husband were as fond of fried fish as I am.  :(

Unlike every coating I’ve tried doing with flax meal, this recipe really came out crisp!  Even the bottoms of the filets were crispy and browned nicely!   This coating also works well with cut-up chicken.  Best of all, this recipe is Atkins Induction friendly!

Though I mention tilapia and swai below, any mild fish will do for this recipe.   If you don’t want to make up the homemade mayo for this, I have, in a hurry, just used sour cream to coat the fish and this cooks up just as well with sour cream! :)  Though I have not tried it yet, it has been reported by my blog readers that this fish, when leftover, reheats nicely in the microwave and STILL STAYS CRUNCHY!   It of course, will reheat just fine in the oven, too.  To be quite hones, I never have any leftover to test that out.  We just LOVE fish done this way, and my husband even enjoys this one!  :)

Many more delicious seafood recipes can be at your fingertips with a set of Jennifer Eloff’s latest cookbooks Low Carbing Among Friends.   She and other talented chefs have collaborated to bring you an extensive collections of tasty delights you’d be proud to serve family and friends.  Order yours TODAY at Amazon or this link:  http://amongfriends.us/order.php

Disclaimer:  I do not receive remuneration for this promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so because I think you will want to add the tasty kitchen creations of such a talented group of low-carb chefs to your low-carb menus.

INGREDIENTS:

30 oz. tilapia or swai filets (six filets about 5 oz. each)

6 T. homemade mayo

3 oz. crushed plain pork rinds

½ tsp.  Seafood Spice Blend

1 T. olive oil

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 450º.  Rub a metal baking sheet with olive oil.  DO NOT USE A SILICONE PAN LINER OR THESE WILL NOT BROWN PROPERLY.  Been there; done that.

Crush pork rinds and place in shallow bowl.  Add spice blend and stir well.  If you like things real spicy, you might want to increase the spice blend a bit or add more cayenne.  Most important step here:  Pat surfaces of fish dry with a paper towel. Then brush each fish filet on both sides with a tablespoon of mayonnaise.   You want to be sure not to miss any spots.  There doesn’t have to be a LOT of mayo, but the entire surface must be moistened with it for the coating to adhere.  If you substitute a commercial mayo, you will have more difficulty getting good coverage, as it is so thick.

Holding the filets up (one at a time) by the tips, between your index finger and thumb in one hand, and with your other hand, spoon the coating over each filet on both sides to coat well. I find if you just dip them into a plate full of the coating, the first two get coated nicely and you run out of coating before all are coated!  That’s ever so annoying!  When all are coated, lay each filet onto your oiled pan.   Place in hot 450º oven and bake for about 20 minutes or until done and crispy on top.   There’s actually no need to turn the filets over during cooking as the bottoms get even browner than the tops!

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 6 servings, each contains:

364 calories

22.9 g  fat

.43 g  carbs, 0 g  fiber, .43 g  NET CARBS

41.4 g  protein

338 mg. sodium

44 comments on “Oven-Fried Fish

  1. Made it today using catfish! It was amazing. I am fine eating just baked catfish as long as it is well seasoned. Tried this for something different. I am glad I did!

  2. Almond flour makes me nauseated for some reason. Have you had any problems making the rinds stay on what you are frying?

    • Not really. They grab onto the homemade mayo quite nicely. This oven-fried fish recipe is oven-baked and isn’t turned during baking, so the coating sticks just fine. The one recipe where I actually have skillet fried a rind-coated item (my Southern Fried Chicken http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/southern-fried-chicken/), the coating stays on nicely PROVIDED you don’t disturb each side of the chicken until it is thoroughly browned. If you do like my husband and shift the pieces a lot before browned, the coating willl come off. But that would happen with a normal flour coating, too. :) Where you see the leg bone in the pic is where I stuck the fork in to turn the leg over to side two and tore the skin with the fork. :)

  3. You mentioned flax seed, from the grocery list I ordered all the things listed. Pork Rinds not on the list. I have Flax Seed so can I use basic spices, what I have on hand, and coat with flax seed. Will it work the same. You confuse me because you mention flax seed but then it is not in the recipe. Alot of your recipes are extremely confusing. I paid $100 for all these things on the grocery list that are commonly used except I do not see them in the actual recipes. Can you be clear in your explanation.

    • I’m afraid you’re not making a lot of sense to me, Peggy. I have no idea what grocery list you are talking about. To my knowledge, I have never provided a grocery list of any kind on my website, other than a reply to a reader the other day who wanted to know about BAKING ingredients she should order at Netrition. There IS no flax seed either in this oven-fried fish recipe nor in the discussion above the recipe. Absolutely DO NOT use flax meal in this fish recipe. The one time I tried flax meal in a coating on shrimp it came out awful. It was not crisp at all, soggy in fact. I think you must be mixing my site up with someone else’s where you may have seen a grocery list.

      • I did got to a grocery supply list that your purchase from Netrition and they were many baking ingredients. I used the Almond Meal on the fish, coated with the mayo and they turned out quite nasty, mixing in the spices that were listed. Followed the directions put them in the oven and did not touch them until they were done. I find I prefer your recipes to some of the others but there are several that look good. I am trying to complete my ingredients, buying organic meats where they are available. Spices where availble. I found the Publix where I live to have a wide variety of organic products including spices. Some even though they do not state organic I am told the brown lids are all natural. Still get the Liquid Sweeteners for some deserts confused. I keep purchasing Stevia granulated, so I have to go in search of the Liquid. I use sea salt but have not purchased the sea salt from the web site. I also use low sodium salt because I have a slight problem with edema so I have cut back on sodium contents somewhat. Sorry to seem like I am rambling but I have read a book “Beyond diet” and there is a cross sometimes between what they consider to be healthy fats, but mostly similar. I will report since just changing thngs up the best I can from what I have read I have a completely normal cholesterol level. So I guess I must be doing somethings right. Thanks for your blog, I have looked at the recipe bookis an want to order one but just do not know which one. I guess the authors are different people on the blogging site. Do you have one? Thanks Peggy

        • I’m so sorry your fish turned out “quite nasty”. But this is why I always tell people when you substitute in other ingredients, the results can be unpredictable and often a flat out disaster. This recipe and any baked goods recipes are perfect examples of “subbing doesn’t always work”. Substituting is very risky at best, in low-carb cooking. But some folks HAVE subbed in almond meal for this fish recipe and they tell me it works for them. If you did not pat the fish dry before beginning, to remove surface moisture, that might have been to blame for a soggy result. I choose not to publish a cookbook (though many have asked me to), as it’s way too much work. Just posting here and on my Facebook page and LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS facebook pages is practically a full-time job. I’m supposed to be retired. My recipes appear in LCAF Volumes 1, 2, 4, and 5. I was tending a sick mother out of town when 3 was at deadline. All the books have great recipes, but right now, I’d say vols. 4 & 5. Reason is I think Jennifer Eloff said they are thinking about adding some photos to the next printing of Vols. 1 & 2 and 3. So hold off on buying those until next printing. We’ll be announcing the next printing on the LCAF site and I will here, too. :)

        • I am so sorry you did not see my correction post. Auto correct messed up what I really said which was it was delicious, not nasty. I followed the directions to a tee. I honestly did not realize I was substituting. I loved it.

  4. I have used this same recipe on my squash and eggplant cooked in the oven … it is wonderful and I have used the hot spicy pork rinds … it was all good and no never any left to even test if it is crunchie reheated lol

    • I’m so glad you like this, Roxanne. I never have any leftover, either. :) But a reader told me one time it reheated nicely in the oven at the same temperature. Recrisps nicely. Might not reheat in teh microwave without getting soggy though. :)

  5. Re: the commercial mayo being too thick…..I’ve found if I apply it with a pastry brush you can make it as thin as you like. Just a thought

  6. Use French’s Fried onions. Crush them, dip fish in seasoned egg wash, roll fish in the crush french’s onions and bake..great with boneless pork chops and boneless chicken breasts too. Try crushed totilla chips on the fish as well.

    • I’m sure they’d TASTE good as a coating for fish. But those are made with a flour and high in carbs. Low carbers don’t eat tortilla chips either. Way too high in carbs.

  7. I have made recipes using pork rinds! Haven’t tried fish yet. This looks great!!!! (though my daughter doesn’t eat meat soooo she’s out.) but I’d love it! I always keep the pork rinds on hand! I love your recipes!!

  8. Hye there!

    Im interested with this recipe.. But i have a problem. I cannot eat pork. As i am a muslim. Can you suggest other ingredient to coat the fish? I hope the ingredient give the same taste as this recipes! :) thank you.

    Sincerely,
    Liana mat isa

    • I can say that some folks coat fish with almond flour or dessicated coconut, but I don’t think you’ll get quite the “crunch” that the rinds would give. But I certainly understand your not being able to have the pork rinds. Give one of those suggestions a try!

Leave a Comment

