Oven-Fried Eggplant

Oven-FriedEggplant-1

Oven-Fried Eggplant

If you love eggplant like we love eggplant, this method of cooking it will quickly become  a favorite way to prepare it.  No standing over a skillet of hot grease. This recipe is DELICIOUS, easy and is Induction friendly as well!  Could you ask for anymore?  It’s quite a bit lower in fat cooked this way, as eggplant will notoriously soak up fat in a skillet like a sponge.  Not that low-carbers worry much about fat intake.  Just sayin’.  🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS: 12 oz. eggplant

4 T. my homemade mayo

6 T. Parmesan Cheese

¼ tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend (or seasoning of your choice)

VARIATION:  For a crunchier eggplant, use only 3 T. Parmesan and add 2 oz. finely crushed pork rinds.

With pork rinds added

With pork rinds added

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 450º.  Use a non-stick sheet pan or oil your sheet pan with olive oil.  Trim stem/end off eggplant.  Cut into 1/4″-3/8″ slices.  Mix spice blend into Parmesan cheese in a dish.   Brush one side of one eggplant slice at a time with mayo.  Coat that side with Parmesan (I use the kind in the can for this recipe) by holding the very edge of the slice over a paper plate with the cheese, dipping and sprinkling the one side, letting excess fall back into the paper plate.  I place the slices cheese-coated side down onto the oiled pan.  Then I brush the other sides all at once and sprinkle the remaining cheese carefully onto the slices.  I find this conserves cheese for the second sides.  If I just dip the slices into the cheese both sides, I run out of cheese EVERY time!   Bake in a hot oven (450º) for about 10 minutes, until nicely browned on bottoms.  Flip the pieces over and bake 10 more minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Serves 4, each serving contains:

183 calories

15 g  fat

5.5 g  carbs, 2.9 g  fiber, 2.6 g  NET CARBS

8 g  protein

121 mg  sodium

8 thoughts on “Oven-Fried Eggplant

    1. No. Serves four, so the carb count is for 1/4 of the entire batch, regardless of how it is sliced. I can’t know how big your eggplant is or thick your slices are, so the count really can’t be figured “per slice”. Divide your round or oblong slices into 4 equal portions, visually or with a knife.

  1. This was delicious! I used 1/2 parmesan and 1/2 Seasoned Hot Pepper Trio Parmesan cheese (from Kraft) and they had a bit of a kick! I will make this again and plan on trying your method on some other veggies that I normally fry!

    1. WONDERFUL! So glad it was a hit. I like to add the pork rinds because I love that crunch on the surface. But when I do Italian food, or use it to layer lasagne, I often leave them out and just use the seasoned cheese. 🙂 I have lots of oven-fried recipes on the site now. Love the ease of oven-frying. Type into the search box if you would like to browse through the others. Most are veggies uses, but a couple are meats. 🙂

Leave a Comment