Creamy Shawarma Spinach

Creamy Shawarma Spinach

I modified a Linda Genaw spinach recipe last night to have with Indian food .  Made a couple other minor changes as well.  Not only was this good alongside our Muthi Kebabs https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/muthi-kebabs/, but the leftovers were even BETTER for breakfast this morning along with a fried egg.  Mmmmm  Good!  A very nutritious Induction friendly side dish!

INGREDIENTS:

14 oz. frozen spinach, defrosted and squeezed dry (I used leaf, but chopped would be OK)

2 T. unsalted butter

2 oz. red bell pepper, chopped

2 oz. yellow onion, chopped

1   10″ stalk celery, chopped

Pinch salt and black pepper

1/4 tsp. my Chicken Shawarma Spice Blend:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/chicken-shawarma-spice-blend/

1/2 c. my homemade mayonnaise:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2009/07/27/homemade-mayonnaise/

¼ c. grated Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS: In a non-stick skillet, saute the veggies in the butter until tender.  Stir in spinach, mayo and Shawarma Spice Blend.  Top with grated Parmesan cheese and bake in 350º oven for 20-30 minutes to blend flavors, until cheese is melted.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 4 servings, each containing:

354 calories

34.25 g  fat

7.18 g  carbs

3.8 g  fiber

3.38 NET CARBS

12.8 g  protein

132 mg sodium

55% RDA vitamin B12, 58% vitamin C, 32% copper, 38% potassium, 48% vitamin E, 54% iron, 45% manganese, 66% riboflavin, 70% selenium

7 thoughts on “Creamy Shawarma Spinach

  1. Gracious me, I am full of questions! What cheese did you use? I see it in the directions, but not in the ingredients.
    Thanks again. I just discovered your blog yesterday & have marked lots of recipes to try.

    1. Well, Sue, I’m sure glad you asked this one. I had inadvertently left off the 1/4c. Parmesan in the ingredients list. Thanks so much for asking so I could get that corrected for other readers.

    1. Sue, it’s a common Indian tandoori kebab meat recipe done in India and the surrounding region. Since I don’t have a tandoori oven, I either grill these over charcoal or sometimes just make patties and sear in the skillet. But they are BEST char-coal grilled! You’ll find recipes for it in many Indian cookbooks. I’ll try to post my recipe for them sometime this week, as your inquiry reminds me I have not posted that recipe yet! Thanks for a memory tickle. My recipe has evolved over time. Stay tuned. 🙂

Leave a Comment