“Unstuffed” Zucchini

Unstuffed Zucchini

I love stuffed zucchini boats as they are so good and ever so attractive to serve!  But frankly, I don’t like all the fuss.  So unless I’m serving to company, I usually just make up my usual recipe like a casserole.  Tastes just the same and is so much easier!  The older I get, I look for EASY in my kitchen 🙂  This dish is Induction friendly.  Though it is higher in carbs than many of my recipes, when you see the nutrient percentages below, you’ll see it’s worth the carb price!  This is a very healthy recipe for your family!  🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

2 slices bacon

3 oz. onion, chopped

14 oz. zucchini, sliced about ¼-½” thick

1 can (14 oz) crushed or diced tomatoes, drained well

12 oz. ground beef (or lamb)

3 oz. green bell pepper, chopped

3 oz. mozzarella cheese, grated

2 T. grated Parmesan cheese

1/3 tsp. dried oregano, crushed

Pinch dried basil (or 1 T. fresh, chopped)

1 lg. clove garlic, minced

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.  Coarsely chop bacon.  Over high heat, brown bacon in a non-stick skillet just until done, but not real crisp.  Add chopped onion and bell pepper and sauté until tender.  Add ground meat, breaking up with spoon as you sauté until meat is no longer pink.  Add tomatoes, zucchini, garlic and spices.  Stir well.   Lower heat to medium, cover and sauté (stirring every few minutes to submerge zucchini below juices) until zucchini is no longer opaque, but not fully cooked.  This will take about 10 minutes and you should have very little juice in the pan at this point.  Place half the mixture into a well-greased casserole dish.  Cover with half the mozzarella and half the Parmesan.  Spoon the rest of the mixture on top.  Now add the rest of the Parmesan and finish off with the rest of the mozzarella.  Bake at 350º for about 30 minutes.  I serve this with a nice green salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 4 servings, each containing:

391 calories

23 g  fat

14.8 g  carbs, 3.9 g fiber, 10.9 g NET CARBS

33 g  protein

763 mg sodium

 

10 thoughts on ““Unstuffed” Zucchini

  1. I made this today and it is delicious, thank you for another keeper recipe.
    Should it be bake covered or uncovered?
    I wasn’t sure so I did 15 min covered and then 15 uncovered.

    1. You guessed right. I rarely cover a casserole when baking. So glad your household enjoyed this, Sue! It’s a recipe I’ve been making literally my entire adult life. 🙂

  2. Why are you making us print your verbage when we want to print a recipe. Your verbage has nothing to do with the recipe. Waste of ink and paper. And my time and money.

    1. Sue, I don’t make you print anything you don’t want to print. When you click the print button at the bottom of the recipe, Print Friendly (the print program on my site) gives you the option to delete “my verbage”, any paragraph you like, any (or all) photos, the stats at the bottom, or whatever you want to delete. All this in just a few clicks. It also lets you enlarge (or reduce) the print size. Rather than a post with an undeserved, sarcastic/curt tone, maybe a little time spent on closely looking at the print screen features on my site would save your “time, money”, ink and paper. Just sayin’.

  3. Does anyone have any sugestions as a replacement for the Parm in these recipes…. I cant stand the flavor or the smell yuck YUCK

Leave a Comment