Homemade Breakfast Sausage

Click to enlarge

Homemade Breakfast Sausage

Went to the store today and bought 3# of ground pork to make up a batch of my homemade breakfast sausage.  The commercial not only is getting pricey these days, but it invariably has more sugar, sodium and seasoning than I like.  I used to make my own years ago and kind of got away from doing so.   But am going to get back to making it myself to control what’s in it.  🙂  This recipe is Induction friendly.  Any ground pork will do, but what I buy pre-ground is labeled “reduced fat” and is so lean, it appears to be center cut loin.  This is great with breakfast eggs or pancakes, crumbled to make your favorite sausage gravy over a low-carb muffin/biscuit…….but it’s also good with a nice green salad for lunch!

I highly encourage you to mix up the recipe and cook a little test patty and taste for levels of the various spices and peppers.  Everyone’s taste is different and you may prefer more of any or all of them.  I like a mild sausage most of the time.  You may prefer spicy!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS: 

3 lb. fresh ground pork

3 T. bacon grease

1 T. +1 tsp. Poultry Seasoning

1 tsp. ground thyme

1½  tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

1½ tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

½ tsp. salt (I actually use less as I’m very sodium sensitive)

DIRECTIONS:  Using either your hands or a fork, blend all ingredients in a large mixing bowl like you would a meatloaf, until the spices appear to be uniformly mixed throughout.  I like to weigh my patties so I know exactly what I’m eating when  go to log my food intake.  I measured out exactly 22  2½-oz. balls of meat onto plastic and then formed them into patties onto plastic wrap.  I like to do 4 patties to a package.  These are large patties and each one is equivalent to two typical patties made from commercial sausage.  However you decide to package yours, when wrapping, make sure there is a film of plastic between each patty.  That way, after they’re frozen in a gallon ziploc bag, you can pop off just the number you need with the tip of a knife while they are still frozen!  Then they defrost pretty quickly in the warm skillet.  I store all my homemade sausage recipes in the freezer this way now.  Really is convenient.  And you will never ever again have any spoil in the refrigerator because it got pushed to the back and you forgot it was even in there.  Been there; done that.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 22  patties  2.5oz (raw), which cook up to around 2oz.  Each contains:

180.23 calories

14.9 g  fat

.38 g  carbs, .13 g fiber, .25 g NET CARBS

10.51 g  protein

90.45 mg sodium

 

38 thoughts on “Homemade Breakfast Sausage

    1. Without recalculating the entire recipe, I can tell you that 3# ground beef averages 3594 calories and 3# ground pork has 3578 (slight variances with the amount of fat in each one), so not much caloric difference at all really…….probably no difference at all if you use real lean ground beef. 🙂

    1. Watched my granny make her own sausage, so I knew it was possible from a very early age. My parents just made their own Italian Sausage and just bought commercial breakfast sausage. 🙂

    1. Well, if you like venison, I think it would, but you might want to up the added fat since it is so lean. All the venison I’ve ever eaten is so incredibly lean, it will tend to make a very tough sausage unless you add quite a bit of fat to the mixture. More than I have added to this pork recipe. I suspect a mixture of pork and venison would also make a lovely sausage. 🙂

    2. I used to buy the cheapest sausage you could get (for the increased fat content) and then mixed it half and half with venison–worked out great.

    1. Sure, pork or if you can afford it, veal will make OK sausage. I wouldn’t think beef would make good sausage, but that’s just my taste and opinion.

  1. I’ve been making my own sausage like this for a long time. The MSG in commercial sausage always tore up my stomach. I’ve been eating gluten free and Paleo and don’t have any digestive problems now.

    1. I guess I’m lucky. I think I have a cast iron stomach, as foods just don’t give me issues, not gluten, not MSG, nothing that I know of but blue cheese and mustard. Just don’t LIKE them. 🙂 But one never knows what is happening at the microscopic level. 🙂

    1. Whatever you might like, Rose. I don’t care for garlic early int he morning. For this reason, I’ve never been able to eat smoked sausage at breakfast like my Dad liked. Just too much garlic that early. 🙂 But I LOVE garlic in Italian sausage, which I tend to consume later in the day. 🙂 I hope you enjoy this if you decide to try it, with garlic. 🙂

Leave a Comment