Peggy’s Breakfast Sausage

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Went to the store today and bought 3# of ground pork to make up a batch of my homemade breakfast sausage.  The commercial not only is getting pricey these days, but it invariably has more sugar, sodium and seasoning than I like.  I used to make my own years ago and kind of got away from doing so.   But am going to get back to making it myself to control what’s in it.  :)  This recipe is Induction friendly.  Any ground pork will do, but what I buy pre-ground is labeled “reduced fat” and is so lean, it appears to be center cut loin.  This is great with breakfast eggs or pancakes, crumbled to make your favorite sausage gravy over a low-carb muffin/biscuit…….but it’s also good with a nice green salad for lunch!

I highly encourage you to mix up the recipe and cook a little test patty and taste for levels of the various spices and peppers.  Everyone’s taste is different and you may prefer more of any or all of them.  I like a mild sausage most of the time.  You may prefer spicy!

INGREDIENTS: 

3 lb. fresh ground pork

3 T. bacon grease

1 T. +1 tsp. Dad’s Poultry Seasoning:  http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/dads-poultry-seasoning/

1 tsp. ground thyme

1½  tsp. black pepper

3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1½ tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

½ tsp. salt (I actually use less as I’m very sodium sensitive)

DIRECTIONS:  Using either your hands or a fork, blend all ingredients in a large mixing bowl until the spices appear to be uniformly mixed throughout.  I like to weigh my patties so I know exactly what I’m eating when  go to log my food intake.  I measured out exactly 22  2½-oz. balls of meat onto plastic and then formed them into patties onto plastic wrap.  I like to do 4 patties to a package.  These are large patties and each one is equivalent to two typical patties made from commercial sausage.  However you decide to package yours, when wrapping, make sure there is a film of plastic between each patty.  That way, after they’re frozen in a gallon ziploc bag, you can pop off just the number you need with the tip of a knife while they are still frozen!  Then they defrost pretty quickly in the warm skillet.  I store all my homemade sausage recipes in the freezer this way now.  Really is convenient.  And you will never ever again have any spoil in the refrigerator because it got pushed to the back and you forgot it was even in there.  Been there; done that.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 22  patties  2.5oz (raw), which cook up to around 2oz.  Each contains:

180.23 calories

14.9 g  fat

.38 g  carbs, .13 g fiber, .25 g NET CARBS

10.51 g  protein

90.45 mg sodium

16% RDA Vitamin B6, 18% B12, 11% iron, 19% niacin, 15% phosphorous, 13.4% riboflavin, 27.7% selenium, 41.3% thamin, 17.14% zinc and 183 mg potassium

20 comments on “Peggy’s Breakfast Sausage

  1. This is the best breakfast sausage recipe. I’ve tried a number of different recipes. My husband and I both love this one. Yummy!!!

  2. Hi Peggy, this was good. I used some of this seasoning on baked chicken pieces (before cooking) and liked it even better than in ground pork sausage. I’m back to make another batch of the seasoning for use on chicken. Thanks for sharing.

    Allison

    • Wait until you try that poultry seasoning in your next batch of stuffing, Allison. It’s not only good on chicken, but absolutely amazing in all the stuffing recipes I’ve done for the holidays since I started low-carbing.

  3. Made those today, thank you for the recipe, they are delicious but they came up a little too “dry” . I must say that I didn’t have bacon grease andi used olive oil. The meat was 9% fat as this is the only one that I can find here. Do you think that was a matter of not enough fat? Or any other suggestions? I friend them in olive oil also.

    • I suspect the ground pork your store is selling is leaner than what I buy. Just increase the bacon fat next time and I think you’ll be more pleased. Bacon fat will not only tenderize the patties, but it will TASTE much better than olive oil. When it comes to sausage, lean is NOT good. That’s basically why I never liked turkey sausage when it came out years ago at the start of the low-fat diet craze…..so lean it was tough, dry and hard. I just couldn’t handle it unless it was crumbled up into something moist.

  4. Super-easy to make and VERY delicious. I was worried that without a no-stick pan the patties would crumble and/or stick, but with a little bacon fat to cook in they came out restaurant perfect.

    • Glad you liked this. Yes, if the meat is super lean, I, too, sometimes have to grease even a non-stick skillet for pork. I make all my own sausage and Italian sausage now. As you say, just too easy not to.

  5. I finally tried this. I cannot eat regular sausage because of the high levels of MSG. The recipe turned out great! Thanks so much. I never thought I could ever even try to make my own sausage. For some reason I thought it would be difficult. Who knew?

    • Never ever think any recipes on MY site will be too hard to try, Lisa. I’m into KISS (Keep it Simple Stupid) in the kitchen, girl. Why reinvent the wheel every night (just for fancy shmancy presentation) has always been my motto. Keep it GOOD; Keep is SIMPLE.

  6. Thanks for the long and helpful response. Guess I am somewhat “spoiled” because of Linda’s site, especially regarding her main dish meals, etc. She lets us know nearly 100% of the time if a recipe will freeze well or not, and I love that about her site. [I don't know if she test freezes recipes prior to posting or not.]

    Read your history, and I must admire your tenacity regarding the plateaus you have dealt with, so fricken frustrating! Been there! I began this WOE in July of 2008 at 165 lbs, too much on a 5’3″ frame, and lost about 20-25 pounds, but it took months and months with many stalls. Wanted to end up at 130lbs or so, but just can’t get there. After much frustration and tweaking of the LC plan, I finally put the scale into my closet and haven’t gone near it for many months. My size 10 jeans fit just fine, and, as long as they do, I’m not going to worry anymore about a damned number on the scale. I was allowing it to control my life!!! My attitude is that I feel great eating this way, my jeans fit, I’ve lost most of that “wheat belly”, so, who cares? I have eaten 15 – 25 net carbs for over three years, will stick with that level because when I increase the carb count, the clothes get tight.

    I just wish I had found this plan years ago before I subjected myself to all those unhealthy and non-successful diets for too many years!

    • Yes, LindaSue spoils us indeed. One of the many reasons I like her site so much. :)

      Congrats on making it to size 10! I’m still somewhere between a 12 & 14. I weigh daily, but only once a day. And like you, I think I’m going to have to keep my carbs below 20 to lose. May be able to maintain at 30-40, but won’t GET to goal that way, clearly.

  7. Just found your site and signed up for any new ideas you may have. Love the fact that you refer to Linda’s site as well. She has provided me with hundreds of recipes since I began this WOE three years ago.
    I have one suggestion…………….it would be helpful to know if a recipe can be frozen. Many of us cook for one and need to store unused portions for another meal.
    Thanks

    • Oh, I love Linda’s recipes. Have made many and haven’t found one I didn’t like to date. And she has so MANY on her site! :)

      Freezer capability would certainly be good to include. And I do include that information on some recipes that I consistently freeze, like this sausage and my Italian sausage recipe. But it’s not practical to include freezing info on all new recipes, as in many, perhaps most cases, I won’t KNOW that at the time of posting. Over time, I might learn that a particular dish freezes well or not and may remember to go back into a recipe post and so note that, but to test freeze every recipe at the time of posting, well……it would create so many leftover containers in my freezer at one time my poor chest freezer would quickly be overwhelmed, as would I.

      But since you are clearly into freezing foods, I’ll share with you that my “bible” for freezing information has always been Freezing and Canning Cookbook, Prized Recipes from the Farms of America by the Food Editors of Farm Journal (magazine), Nell B. Nichols, editor, revised ed., © 1973. You won’t find a more comprehensive book on the subject, I don’t believe. Ditched all my others. It’s a pleasant mixture of information on what you can/can/t freeze, cool freezing tricks, easy instructions on how to go about blanching/freezing virtually every specific veggie, fruit and category of food you can think of, as well as how long they will keep in the freezer. It’s also chock full of recipes submitted by farm housewives, many of which I’ve tried and liked. If you can get your hands on a used copy, I’ve seen them for a l little as $14-15 at Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Well worth the investment! New ones are way out of sight price-wise, I discovered tonight Googling.

      But as a rule, I will try freezing just about any foods one time to find out. There are very few foods that don’t freeze well, per the above book. Those are :

      1. Foods containing rice (which gets grainy) But LC’ers don’t eat rice much
      2. White potatoes (which get mealy and breaks down) But LC’ers don’t eat those much either
      3. Pumpkin, canned or fresh (which bleeds water into the pan and ruins many dishes) Exception: pumpkin cakes/muffins freeze OK for 2 months
      4. Breads and baked goods freeze OK, but only for about 2 months (dry out beyond edibility)
      5. Cream cheese or cheesecakes/desserts made with it (which can get crumbly/grainy).
      6. Cream actually freezes OK, but will appear curdled/separated when thawed. Visually off-putting initially, but it gets smooth again when reheated.

  8. I am going to give this a try very soon. I’m wondering, where do you purchase the ground pork? I would like to find a recipe to equal Owens spicy saysage, it is hands down my favorite!

    Thanks for the recipe
    Gale

    • I can get it at the only two stores in my town, Walmart Supercenter meat department in 1# packages. The HEB store has it in the plastic 1# chubs like Owens sausage comes in. Seems like Kroger sells pork ground also, but HEB squeezed them out of most of Texas and they’re only on the coast and the Dallas area now. I used to have my own meat grinder and would grind up pork boston butt roast myself. But when the motor died, I haven’t replaced it yet. My spice blend in this might not be spicy enough for you. I’d recommend making it up and frying up one piece and tasting. Then you can doctor up the rest of the batch before freezing with more red/black pepper to your personal taste. :)

Leave a Comment

