Bacon Smothered Burger

BaconSmotheredBurger-1

This delightfully easy dish makes a great lunch, dinner, or even breakfast.  It’s quick to make and very nutritious.  Note the nutritional stats below!  Of course, it goes without saying this it Induction friendly.  This is Paleo suitable if you use the coconut milk rather than the cream and it is suitable for all phases of Atkins.   This is just as good, perhaps even better, served over a ground pork patty sprinkled with a pinch of thyme (had it that way today!!) or a couple regular pork sausage patties.   🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

6 oz. raw ground beef (cooks out to about 4-4¼ oz)

3 slices bacon, chopped fine (sugar-free)

1 green onion

¼ c. heavy cream or coconut milk

½ c. water

Pinch salt (omit if you are sodium sensitive)

Cracked fresh pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:  Form a meat patty with meat and brown it in a non-stick skillet until done.  Drain and set on a serving plate.  Cook bacon in same skillet, drain on paper towel.  Chop green onion and add to pan.  Lower heat to lowest setting and  add water and cream.  Stir until onion is soft.  Thicken with your favorite thickener if not naturally thick enough for you after it reduces a minute or two.  Add bacon, salt, pepper and dip over meat and serve.  Goes nice with a green salad at lunch or some scrambled eggs if serving at breakfast.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 1 serving which contains:

633 calories

50.5 g  fat

3.8 g  carbs, .7 g  fiber, 3.1 g  NET CARBS

39.8 g  protein

1055 mg sodium (depending on your bacon)

 

14 thoughts on “Bacon Smothered Burger

  1. I need to increase servings to four. Will I really need two cups of water? Sounds like a lot. Made this once as written, and it is delicious!

      1. Judy was asking if two cups was correct. Your response sounds like your correcting her but you gave the same info.

      2. No, Judy said she thought 2 cups was “a lot”. I wasn’t correcting at all, Janette. You are reading way more into my reply than is there. I was merely doing the math “out loud” in my reply for quadrupling the recipe to four servings, which is what she wanted. Implied in my reply is yes, you have to quadruple the water, too, to 2 cups water. My use of the word “only” was because I’m taking a powerful pain med daily for chronic back pain and it does muddy up my reading comprehension occasionally. I read her question as “Do I really need FOUR cups of water? Sounds like a lot”. I was merely quadrupling the single serving water amount to enumerate she didn’t need 4 cups, but merely 2 cups.

        I do have to keep replies pretty brief, and perhaps you thought my brevity “abrupt”. But posting my recipes on 4 websites, I just have to keep replies brief or I’d never get to anything else in my life. I’m not in the habit of “correcting” anyone I know, much less people I don’t know. You’ll note I did add a smiley face at the end of my reply, which is not something I would be inclined to do if angry or not more than happy to help her achieve a successful outcome when she quadruples the recipe? I just don’t get how my brief reply was “correcting”.

  2. What do you use as a thickener?? I’ve always skipped these recipes because i assumed they contain flour or cornstarch.. thanks so much.. Kathy

    1. I have had the best luck with xanthan gum (ordered on-line) as I can control that one if dusted ont he sauce lightly, in successive steps. Too much it it, or any low-carb thickener can be really bad, so I add it very slowly. I keep it in an old salt shaker and that helps control very small amounts.

  3. I just wanted to tell you… I had a crash and lost your site.. I am so glad I found it again.. I can see I need to get some carb quick but have held off because of the soy in it… I really don’t care for that taste.. but so many are useing it with great results..I may just have to try it….
    blessings to you for all you do and share with us
    sheila in GA

    1. Well Hello again, Sheila in GA. 🙂 So glad you made your way back to the site. Just remember if you Google Buttoni, or Low Carb Recipe Blogs, I come up pretty high on the first page of results. 🙂

  4. This is a simple recipe that turned out really well! I made it for dinner, but can absolutely see how it would be just as good for lunch! The ingredients all work so well together! Best of all it was easy to make, which is a huge bonus for someone that isn’t great in the kitchen, like me! Thank you!

  5. Thanks for all of your wonderful recipes and tips! They have added so much more interest and tastes to our low carb meals!

    1. Always a pleasure to share my recipes, Marlene. And adding interest to your menus is the surest route to success, with any eating regimen.

Leave a Comment