Peggy’s Original Dumplings

dumplins

For those who miss dumplings and noodles, here ya go!  Only took me 4 years to develop these! This one’s for you Dano!  🙂

When you can’t have flour, it’s really really hard to make dumplings that will hold together during cooking. I’ve used almond flour, coconut flour, flax meal and a variety of alternate flours.  You name it and I’ve probably tried that alternate flour to make a dumpling.  This is no easy low-carb feat.  I wanted a similar taste and similar mouth feel as the dumplings I made before my low-carbing days.  All attempts thus far have been mediocre, at best.

Somewhere on the net a year or so ago, on some forum (probably Low Carb Friends, but not sure), someone mentioned they made dumplings with glucomannan powder.  Not being at all familiar with this product, I ordered some from Netrition.com and began to experiment.  Its gel-like, fibrous qualities lends itself to a dumpling application, providing needed structure and texture.  It is also useful for thickening gravies, sauces and puddings.  I’ve even found a tad of this stuff enhances low-carb cake, cookie and bread baking results, both in volume and texture.  I’d love to give credit to my inspiration on this recipe, but I must admit I failed to write down the name of the person who’s ingenious idea this really was.  But I’m thankful they triggered off some experimentation that has paid off!

If you’re not familiar with glucomannan powder, it comes from the Konjac tuber, and is used to make shirataki noodles seen in Asian menus.   It can be used as a binding agent in some recipes.  It is virtually a zero carb food, in that the fiber content is so high, it virtually negates the few carbs it contains as fiber is indigestible and passes right out of the system with zero blood sugar impact.   Most importantly, glucomannan adds the structure and elasticity needed for dumplings and noodles.  So my experimenting began.

I’m getting more comfortable using this tricky ingredient and have finally come up with a “dumpling” that feels and almost tastes like my flour dumplings of old.  This will now be my go-to low-carb dumpling recipe.  As you can see in the pic above, they hold together nicely during very gentle simmering (unlike all previous attempts), and the gluc powder also slightly releases in to the broth to thicken as they cook.  NICE!

For you “experimenters”  under no circumstances, increase the oat fiber!!  I did one time and they were a fail.   They were hard as a rock plus they did not absorb any flavor from the chicken broth because of the density.  Trust me, you DON’T want to go there!  This delicate balance of ingredients is really pretty special and all attempts to “improve” them have been disappointing.

These were the best low-carb chicken and dumplings I’ve had in years!  My husband gave these dumplings two thumbs up today, and he’s extremely picky.  They don’t have much taste on their own, but pick up the flavor of whatever broth you cook them in.  The carb count for these dumplings is simply unbelievable for the satisfaction they provide.  Guilt free dumplings at last!!  YAAAAAAY!

The recipe posted elsewhere on my site for chicken and dumplings is good, don’t get me wrong.  But you have to bake the Oopsie rolls separately for that recipe.   With this dumpling recipe, I can stir the ingredients together, drop them into the broth, and the dumplings are simmering immediately!  Much easier!  And you regular readers know I’m really in to EASY cooking.

These work nicely in  soups if made smaller.   I have made small, oblong shapes for marvelous gnocchi served in rich cream sauces.  Some more adventurous cooks are even using pasta extruders and coming up with all kinds of noodle shapes for this dough!  But I don’t own an extruder and probably wouldn’t go to that much trouble for noodles.  Just being very honest.  I’m a lazy cook. 🙂

These dumplings are not suitable until the grains rung of the Atkins OWL ladder due to the oat fiber, but omitting or substituting for it is just not an option here.   I’m very proud to have developed a dumpling recipe that many who have tried freely admit fills a dumpling/noodle craving void in their low-carb lifestyles.  🙂

My Lobster Linguine recipe is the first time I tried rolling and cutting it into noodles and the final dish was quite good.

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1½ T. glucomannan powder (Konjac powder)

1½ T. oat fiber (For gluten-free, use oat flour ground from 100% gluten-free oats)

1/8 tsp. salt

¼ c. +2 T. water

1 extra large egg, 1 jumbo egg, or 2 medium eggs, beaten

VARIATION:  Add 1-2 T. finely chopped parsley to the dry ingredients

DIRECTIONS:   Beat the egg in a small bowl with a fork.  Add the water and beat until well blended.  On a paper plate or in another bowl, mix the dry ingredients well.  Slowly sprinkle the dry ingredients into the wet, stirring with a fork or whisk.  Switching to a rubber spatula, stir and begin to fold the slowly thickening mixture over and over itself until it is a contiguous mass of batter.  it will turn into a drier dough as you mix it up.  I let mine sit by the stove 2-3 minutes.  Then, using a teaspoon, dip 3/4″-1″ dollops of the dough into your palm.  This step is important:  roll them gently in your palms into a ball shape.  I set the balls on my counter or a silicone sheet until all are made.  If you just drop them directly into the broth from the spoon without rolling, they tend to fall apart in the broth during cooking.  If making gnocchi, using your hands, roll the dough into ropes on plastic wrap or silicone sheet and cut into short lengths for gnocchi, if that’s your application.

Remove chicken, meat or large chunks of vegetables to a platter before adding the dumplings to broth.  This allows ample room for the dumplings to rise and swell during simmering.  Have your soup/broth boiling (it will cool fast as you add the cooler dough balls).  Drop the round dumplings/gnocchi into slowly simmering broth.   Immediately turn fire medium-low so it will only gently simmer now.  This is IMPORTANT, as you don’t want to “rough up” these delicate babies.  Cover with tight fitting lid.  From the time you cover the pot, set timer for exactly 10 minutes for dumplings (8 minutes for smaller gnocchi).   DO NOT LIFT THE LID or disturb the pot during cooking.  After 10 minutes  (8 minutes for gnocchi), lift the lid and VOILA!!  They’re done!  You may have to thicken the stock further depending on your personal preference, but the dumplings themselves usually take care of thickening, as some of the glucomannan in then sloughs off into the broth, thickening it right up.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 12 medium-large 1½” dumplings (24 gnocchi), each contains:  (halve the numbers for each gnocchi)

7.17 calories, 0.49 g  fat, 1.38 g  carbs, 1.29 g  fiber, 0.1 g  NET CARBS, 0.61 g  protein, 55 mg sodium

285 thoughts on “Peggy’s Original Dumplings

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe. I miss dumplings in my soup. Can you use potato fiber, in place of the oat fiber? I purchased some when it finally became available in the US. I got it for a low-carb bread recipe 

    1. Potato fiber has quite a few carbs, Susan; Oat fiber has virtually none. In addition, I don’t know if it will work the same way or not, having never used it. Just being honest, as any substitutions I have tried in this recipe has caused it to fail. But it’s such a small recipe, you could try it and just simmer them in plain water to see how they come out. That way you won’t mess up a batch of chicken and dumplings should the sub fail on you. Let me know how it comes out!

      1. I will give it a try and see how it comes out since I have it on hand.  It says that it is an insoluble fiber which is not digestible making it low carb and keto friendly. I will find some oat fiber to keep on hand. Keeping my fingers crossed. 

      2. As long as it’s not potato STARCH, you should be OK on the carbs. Let me know how the dumpling cooked up with it!

      3. I double checked and it is potato fiber not starch. I will post once I make them. Hopefully it will work. I never did make the bread recipe that I bought it for because I can’t find Quark or Farmers cheese. LOL

      4. Here’s a recipe for making quark at home you might want to try sometime. I’ve never made it (or tasted) quark myself, but folks on my low-carb forums say they like it and find it much like Greek/strained yogurt and use them interchangeably.

    1. Well, Fleur, I don’t think they will cook up properly without the egg. Thta said, you could experiment with some of these ideas: https://topwithcinnamon.com/egg-substitutes/. I would start out with the chia seeds or the ground flax seeds, myself. But understand it would be YOUR expperment, as I’ve not made these any way but as printed int he recipe. It’s a very touchy recipe, so substitutions may render disaster. So be prepared and do some trial runs before you mess up a pot of chicken and wind up disappointed. Just being honest.

  2. I have made these my standard for dumplings and they are well received by all takers! Now I would like to try the “extruded noodle” you speak about. Is there any modification to the recipe for this? Is there a way to talk to those who have had success with this?Thanks so much for all your recipes.

    1. Some good cooks I have chatted with over on LOW CARB NEIGHBORHOOD. Go on over and sign yourself up! https://lcneighborhood.com/. Last I checked, there was a thread on the Past Great Recipes sub-forum called something like “Peggy’s Dumpling Recipes” that had some variations tagged onto it. You’ll enjoy chatting with a lot of those cooks and testers!

    2. I was one of the ones who tried extruding these with my little handheld pasta extruder. I used 2 Tbsp of coconut flour in the dough and it works like a charm! Kudos to Peggy for this incredible recipe. Here’s my version:
      Diana’s Pasta
      Beat together:
      • 1 lg egg
      • 2 cups water
      Mix dry ingredients below together and add to wet ingredients, stirring until it comes together into a soft dough. When its perfect, it should have the consistency of play-doh. Stop when you have the right consistency–do not use too much of the dry mix, you don’t want a stiff, hard ball of dough:
      • 6 T glucomannan powder
      • 6 T oat fiber
      • 1 T baking powder
      • 1/2 t kosher salt
      • 2 Tbsp coconut flour
      Let rest 8-10 minutes, then put through a pasta extruder or roll thin and cut for flat noodles. I used a little hand-held pasta extruder on the noodles, with the smallest holes attachment.
      I store this in the fridge, lightly wrapped in parchment paper until ready to use. Simmer for 2 or 3 minutes in boiling water, drain, and use as any other pasta.

  3. Hey Peggy, thanks for this awesome recipe. I’ve been getting 20-30ish smaller dumplings out of this, and they come out with a similar texture to gnocchi, which is delicious, but I was wondering why you mention them being fragile and why yours look fluffier than mine. I do roll them in my hands as you suggest. At one point I thought it was my baking powder going south, so I bought a fresh pack, but it made no difference. I would like to get them a bit less dense for some dishes. Any tips?

    1. Maybe you could try NOT rolling them in your hand and see if that results in a texture you like better? Or roll but apply less pressure when doing so? I do roll them ever so slightly with little pressure as I roll. That would be my only suggestion. I like them as a gnocchi substitute best, too.

Leave a Comment