Black Pepper Flax Crackers

Click to enlarge

I modified a basic Parmesan Flax Meal Cracker recipe of mine and came up with one hubby and I both LOVE!  Nutritional information below reflects the inclusion of the sesame seeds, but bear in mind that sesame seeds are not allowed until the nut/seed rung of OWL.  Omit them if still on Induction.  The cheese is salty enough, so whatever you do, do not add any salt to this recipe.  I did ONE time and ruined the batch!  These are really crispy and marvelous with your favorite snack cheese or just spread with butter!  I even had a few with a bowl of soup the other day!  These can be re-crisped in the oven, if after a few days they lose any crunchiness.  I like to add a bit of crushed rosemary with garlic powder or sometimes a bit of McCormick’s Montreal Steak seasoning (has no sugar) to these for a change of pace once in awhile.

INGREDIENTS:

1 c. flax meal  (I like a 50:50 mixture of golden flax and dark flax)

3/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese

1 tsp. onion powder

1/8 c. oat fiber

½ – 3/4 tsp. coarse ground black pepper (depending on your taste)

2 T. sesame seeds (omit if still on Induction)

½ c. water

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease even a non-stick cookie sheet pan with a thin film of oil. Mix all ingredients and stir into a crumbly mixture.   Pour crumbly mixture evenly onto lightly greased 13×15 sheet pan lined with parchment paper.  Using plastic gloves or little sandwich baggies for gloves, press the mixture evenly over the bottom of the pan.  You’ll think this mixture will never go all the way to the edge of the pan, but it WILL, trust me.  Be patient and keep pressing it outward from the center.  You want these to be evenly thin for best crispness so try to avoid “hills and gullies”.  You can even roll with a greased, smooth sided glass or small rolling pin moistened with oil.  Using a knife, gently score into 48 crackers (8 crackers x 6 crackers).  Bake at 350º for around 25 minutes.  Watch them closely as ovens vary and these will burn if overcooked just a little bit. I know, been there; done that.  Take them out the minute the edges get lightly brown and center feels dry to the touch.   When cool, carefully rescore deeper with a knife along the scored lines.  Then gently break all crackers apart along the score lines.  Store in an air-tight container.

 

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 48   2″x 1.5″ crackers made by recipe as originally written, each contains:

35 calories

2.67 g  fat

2.08 g  carbs, 1.88 g  fiber, .2 NET CARBS

1.55 g  protein

33 mg sodium

 

8 thoughts on “Black Pepper Flax Crackers

  1. Hi Peggy,

    I don’t have oat fiber and I was wondering if you’ve ever tired Psyllium Husks in place of it? I’m guessing it’ll change the carb out too.

    I’m craving crackers today so I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Thanks again for all of your wonderful mouthwatering recipes 🙂
    Marisa

    1. I don’t use the PH (psyllium husks) too often, Marisa. But many do. In crackers, that substitution will probably work, but you won’t get the oat/flour taste that oat fiber brings to the final product. That’s what I use the oat fiber for in crackers. Plus oat fiber drys/crisps them up a bit, and I don’t know if PH will do that. But they should cook up OK with PH.

  2. LOL I just found your site a little while ago and I sure am enjoying it. Love your sense of humor! I to can’t stand eating the same ole same ole. I have told hubby I don’t know HOW MANY times, no no no I cannot eat something 3 to 4 times a week and not get bored with it. We are doing Wheat Belly by Dr. Davis and hubby likes the easy stuff to which I also like but I can’t get stuck in a rut with eating the same things all the time.

    1. Glad you’re enjoying the humor and food, Rose. I try to keep it simple in the kitchen, ’cause you just have to have a sense of humor when the failures pop up…….and they do from time to time. I keep on experimenting because I do have my comfort foods and want to reproduce them low-carb, if possible, so as to avoid that dreaded food boredom. GLAD you found my site!

  3. I made my first batch of crackers today using this recipe. They turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing all your low-carb recipes with us. You help us keep on track with our Atkins way of eating and have a good variety of foods from which to choose! Thank you!

    1. I aim to please. Variety is what I’m striving for with this site. And not just any old recipe in my recipe box. If it’s not really GOOD and EASY it never hits my website.

      Food boredom is the “kiss of death” for any weight loss effort, regardless of which plan it is. It usually spells eminent cessation of diet compliance for most folks. So no food boredom around here! 🙂

    1. Glad you stopped by, Marissa. I’ve uploaded a bunch of new recipes this month. Your post reminds me I really need to get in the kitchen and bake myself another batch of crackers. Nary a one in the house (well my husband has his saltines, but none that I can eat). I just love these with the the Atkins Italian Tuna Pate recipe: http://community.atkins.com/discussions/viewTopic/p/postId/4223267/messageBoardId/1198/topicId/4213841/Re_Italian_Tuna_Pate.htm#4223267

Leave a Comment