Sausage Gravy on Toast

sausagegravyontoast-1

A favorite Southern breakfast for me when I don’t want eggs:  cream gravy on biscuits or toast.  I try to keep lkow-carb bread or biscuits already made up and in the fridge.  I even like to have this gravy, on occasion, right on top of a plate of scrambled eggs!  I have to confess, it’s pretty good that way, too!  So you folks on Induction can certainly have it that way, or on a toasted unsweetened flax Muffin in a Minute.  The mushrooms aren’t traditional in this, so feel free to omit them.  But I like to include some veggies into my breakfast whenever I can.  If the mushrooms are omitted, the count drops by 5 calories, .7 carbs, .46 fiber or .24 NC per serving.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

2 slices low carb bread, toasted:  (I used this:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/peggys-low-carb-bread/ )

2 oz. heavy cream

1 c. water

2 oz. ground pork sausage meat

2 large mushrooms, chopped

1/8 tsp. crushed dried tarragon or 1 tsp. chopped parsley (optional)

Pinch each onion powder and black pepper

Dash xanthan gum to thicken

DIRECTIONS:

Brown sausage over medium heat in non-stick skillet, breaking it up into crumbles as it cooks.  If including, add chopped mushrooms when sausage is nearly done.  When mushrooms are done,   add cream, water and all seasonings.  Simmer on low a couple minutes.  Lightly dust xanthan gum over surface and stir until thick.  Repeat if needed.  Server over toasted low-carb bread or your favorite low carb biscuit.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes two servings of about 2/3 c. each.  One serving contains: (includes mushrooms)

141 calories

11.6 g  fat

2.2 g  carbs,  .5 g  fiber,  1.7 g  NET CARBS (only .24 net carbs if mushroom omitted)

7.1 g  protein

225 mg sodium

5 thoughts on “Sausage Gravy on Toast

  1. Miss Peggy
    thanks you so much for what you do… I been low carb for years and I still love Most of what you post..pretty plain ole gal, so no fancy for me hehehe but
    you are a god send to all the new ones and hey gal even me after all these years..

    1. Thank you for those very kind words, Sheila. I’m glad to help you and the general LC community with my simple dishes. Hopefully it makes their lives easier, tastier and effortless. That’s my kind of cooking. 🙂

  2. I am very thankful to have found you. I was fixing to die of boredom following Atkins. There is hope of sticking to it, having found you. Thanks so much for doing what you do.

    1. That’s exactly why I do it! I want to help others ENJOY the variety of great food and recipes that are OK for Atkins and many other low-carb, healthy, ketogenic diets. No point in EVERYONE re-inventing the wheel! Happy browsing and happy cooking. Best of luck on your weight-loss journey, too!

      1. Thanks a lot. Now just maintaining and being content in this new way of life. Having found you makes it much better. Keep doing what you do! I am making your chicken livers very soon, just went and bought some. The fact that you invented so many comfort foods (like gravy) is really great.

Leave a Comment