“Fried” Chicken Livers

Click to enlarge

Oven-Fried Chicken Livers

Southern girl that I am, I get a hankering for fried chicken liver every once in awhile and today was my day.  This is not a food I’ve tried to low-carb before now.  Frankly, I didn’t think they would come out very good without the crispy traditional flour coating they are often made with. My grocery store has taken to carrying their chicken livers in a huge 1.25# cartons instead of the 1# carton they have stocked in the past.  My husband doesn’t like chicken liver, so I alone (or my puppies are most eager to) polish off any leftovers.  So it looks like I’m going to have 5-6 oz. leftover every time I bake my homemade dog treats with the livers.  Now I’ll have a convenient way to quell my fried chicken liver craving that crops up once in awhile.

Since this coating has worked well on everything I’ve tried it on to date, I thought I’d give it a go and these came out REAL good!!  Since I baked doggie treats yesterday, I decided to oven-fry the remainders today for my lunch.  They came out much crisper than I anticipated!   I won’t hesitate to “low-carb” chicken livers again!  These would be suitable for any phase of Atkins.  They are also suitable for Paleo-Primal, if you occasionally eat pork rinds (otherwise, coat with almond flour).    This coating is also good with a bit of grated Parmesan cheese added, but I did not do so today and it is not calculated in the stats below.  Be sure to note the incredible nutritional stats for this food!!  I’m going to try to fit chicken livers into my menus more often now, for sure!

INGREDIENTS:

5 oz. raw chicken livers

½ c. homemade mayo

4 oz. plain pork rinds, crushed fine

1/4 tsp. spice blend of your choice (I used my Cajun Seafood Spice blend)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 425º.  Place chicken livers on paper toweling and pat them with more paper towels to get as much moisture off as you can. Cut the really large ones in half for more even cooking.  Pour mayo onto a paper plate.  Place crushed rinds and spices onto a second paper plate and stir well.  Dip livers into the mayo to coat boat sides, then drop into crushed rinds.  I curl the paper plate to facilitate rolling the rinds up over the tops of the livers.  Place coated livers onto a non-stick sided cookie sheet.   Pop into 425º oven for 10 minutes.  Turn gently with tongs and cook an additional 10 minutes.  They should be done in 20 minutes and browned nicely on both sides.  Enjoy quickly so they will still be crispy!  Serve with your favorite sides.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 3 servings, each contains:

526 calories

43 g  fat

.53 g  carbs, .03 g  fiber, .5 NET CARBS

32.5 g  protein

488 mg sodium

40 thoughts on ““Fried” Chicken Livers

  1. I’m going to make these for my dinner tonight! I am borderline deficient in Choline, and since organ meats are a good source for Choline…it’s a no-brainer! I already had a box of Pork Panko (0 grams of sugar), spice for blackened chicken, and Primal Kitchen avocado oil mayo in the pantry, so I’m all set! I LOVE chicken livers, but I don’t like making a big mess of my cooktop and counter, so oven “fried” is perfect. By the way, I’ll be using parchment paper to line the jellyroll pan rather than using non-stick.

    Thanks for the easy-peasy recipe!

    1. Hope you like them. I’ve never done them on parchment, but they should crisp up OK done thata way. If not, you’ll know what to switch over to. 🙂

  2. Ok, I’m just about to make this recipe. Being new to this whole Leto thing, I’m kind of stoked about being able to eat chicken lovers guilt free. I found some pineapple ancho pork rinds, so that is what I will be using for this recipe. They contain less than 1 gram of carbs per serving so it shouldn’t be a problem. In case I forgot to mention…I am stoked about trying this recipe!!!

    1. Welcome, Traci. Hope you like this recipe. I sure did. Since you’re just starting out, I’ll mention this. You probably want to avoid all the “flavored” pork rinds out there. Read the ingredient list. They have hidden sugar in them. If you’re going to be successful at Atkins or Keto programs, you want to avoid all real sugar (goes by many names, as Shakespeare said: “A rose by any other name……..is still a rose”). The carb number being low is only part of the picture and if that’s all you track, those hidden sugars will add up over time and could likely undermine your success. I wish you the best of luck on your keto journey. You cure son’t go hungry on this diet, unlike low-fat diets. 🙂

  3. There really is no good place to get Fried Chicken livers here in the middle of Iowa! (except Walmart and they are deep fried) but in a craving a few weeks ago I bit the bullet! Can’t wait to try this! I save the pork rind crumbles and haven’t tried anything with them. Today I bought a panko oven fried chicken box mix from Louisiana Fish Fry. 6 net carbs/2 tbs so maybe 2 livers? Will try both and perhaps mix so three to compare. Did you guess I am a scientist? Yep, clinical! Glad I googled the right thing and ended up here. The Boys(my Dogs) will get to taste test too!

    1. Well I hope you and “the boys” like these. My husband doesn’t like chicken liver, so I only get to fix these when he is away.

    1. I know that was good!! I love the BBQ ones. Be sure, however, you realize the coating on those have sugar in them. Check the ingredients on the package. Occasionally having them won’t hurt you, but regular consumption could sabotage your weight loss efforts. 🙂 So glad you like this recipe. I was surprised how good they came out myself. 🙂

  4. I have always loved Chicken livers. When I was living in Virginia Beach many years ago,
    my sons loved fried chicken livers. They were very young and we had a Chicken House
    Restaurant down the street. We would go for a walk and they would beg me to get them
    the Chicken Livers , they sold them by the bag (5 per Bag) for 25 cents. (boy am I dating myself) They would each get a bag (me Too) that was such a treat. They were cooked just right. I have tried a couple of times at Kentucky Fried Chicken her in Florida but they over cook them. So I make them myself. Oh my boys can’t believe they used to eat them. They won’t even try them as adults.

  5. my grandchildren love chicken livers. They do not get to eat them too often, but when they do they are baked, and at least it has lots of good iron in them. I use garlic powder, and a pinch of cloves to my bread crumbs. Sometimes a little orange zest to give them a different spice taste. Enjoy.

    1. It’s unusual to see children eat liver. Good on you for getting yours to like it. Garlic sounds quite good for this coating. I’ll have to try the orange zest idea sometime.

    2. Yes I’ve been looking for a recipe oven baked chicken livers for a long time and are they healthy hello Friend its not thank you so much for sharing this with me I had the opportunity by my daughter’s house this summer and she learns what it was to eat healthy and I would like to continue I know Friend I am in Greece is not healthy but thank you once again staying on track thank you once again Alma Davis from Newport News

  6. This was just the treat for brunch on a frigid Sunday. I added a nice dose of Dijon mustard to the (Hellman’s) mayo. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Comment