Sweet Steamed Cabbage

What’s there to NOT like about cabbage?  The smell of it boiling on the stove, quite frankly.  I love the TASTE of cabbage, but have never liked the SMELL of it cooking……..that is until I discovered how to cook it in the microwave.  If you’ve never been particularly fond of cabbage, you’re in for a real treat with this method of cooking it!   I do hope all my cabbage haters out there will give this one a go.   

This method of cooking is my attempt to replicate a cabbage dish a little Chinese restaurant in Texas City used to serve.  It was slightly sweet and cooked just until slightly soft wilted with a heavy dose of butter.  I’ve gotten pretty close to their flavor now with this dish.  I think you will REALLY like this method of cooking cabbage.  For me, two key added pluses is 1) not having to heat up the house with slow boiling and 2) not having that odor in the house for hours on end either.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo.

VARIATION:  Add crumbled, cooked, crisp bacon on top right before serving. 

INGREDIENTS:

3 c. green cabbage, cut into 2″ pieces (leaves separated)

½ c. water

2 T. butter

2-3 drops liquid Stevia, liquid Splenda or sweetener of choice

Optional:  salt & pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:  Cut cabbage into 2″ chunks and separate the leaves.  Place in glass dish.  Add water, butter and Splenda.  Microwave 4-5 minutes only on HI, stirring once during cooking at 2 minutes.  Test for doneness as microwaves vary.  You want the cabbage just wilted and tender but not very soft really.  If properly done, this dish has none of the strong cabbage flavor or smell cooked cabbage usually leaves behind for hours.  It’s one of the few cooked cabbage dishes my husband will eat, in fact, for this reason.  Serve at once.  As I like the sweetness of this particular cabbage dish, I don’t usually add salt or pepper, but each to his own preferences.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 3 servings, each contains:

90 calories, 7.7 g.  fat, 5.12 g  carbs, 2.23 g  fiber, 2.94 g  NET CARBS, 1.2 g  protein, 19 mg sodium

Leave a Comment