Indian Muthi Kebabs

Indian Muthi Kebabs

I have been wanting to try my hand at the muthi kebabs that are often served with a Mixed Grill at Indian restaurants.  So I tinkered around with my Garam Masala spice blend and a few other common Indian seasonings and grilled the final result.   I managed to get my recipe pretty darn close to the taste I’m so familiar with.  This has since become my go-to Indian kebab recipe.  I like to serve these with various grilled vegetables, usually including onions, but sometimes with grilled tomatoes or grilled yellow squash.  Also pictured are dry-griddled Mission Carb Balance whole wheat flour tortillas (3 net carbs per tortilla) for a very similar taste to Indian whole wheat chapatis.  🙂

These kebabs can be made with either beef or lamb.  And although you can skillet cook or broil them indoors, grilling them over charcoal will achieve a flavor so similar to those done in a tandoori oven that once you’ve done them that way, you’ll not want them any other way.  Of that I am certain!  I have tried to mold these on skewers before, but I have never had much luck with that.  Gravity kicks in and mine drop off the skewer before I can even get the skewer to the grill, so we just do them in little patties instead.  🙂    This recipe is Atkins Induction friendly and is also suitable for Keto, Primal and Paleo.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

Click to enlarge

Shown in the traditional shape

INGREDIENTS:

24 oz. ground beef or lamb (not too lean, or add some fat)

4 oz. onion, minced fine

2-3 T. cilantro, chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped fine

½ tsp. ginger root, minced

1 tsp. Garam Masala

¼ tsp. turmeric

¼ tsp. salt

1 small egg, beaten

Dash black pepper and cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS:   I have a food processor, so I throw all the ingredients in and process until all veggies are minced fine and blended well into the smooth meat.  Form into 8 equal patties.  I actually weigh mine and make them 3 oz. raw mixture for each patty.   Prepare charcoal fire and grill over hot coals for about 10 minutes on a side (will vary depending on how hot your fire is and how far the meat is from the coals).   I like to serve these kebabs with my Indian Creamed Spinach , assorted grilled veggies or my Roasted Shawarma Vegetables .  Mmmmm. Good Eats!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 8 patties, each contains:

237.6 calories

15.2 g  fat

1.46 g  carbs, .29 g fiber, 1.17 g  net carbs

22.5 g  protein

418 mg sodium

 

2 thoughts on “Indian Muthi Kebabs

Leave a Comment