Shawarma Mayo or Salad Dressing

Click to enlarge

One of tastiest salads with grilled steak

This creamy salad dressing uses homemade mayonnaise as its base.  The Shawarma spice does the rest!  it’s imbued with the flavors of Middle Eastern gyros or kebabs.  It a delightful flavor to change up chicken or turkey sandwiches.  It’s equally delicious atop green salads and spinach salads.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Paleo-Primal diners as well.  Just thin with an extra splash of vinegar, some cream or coconut cream to turn this thick mayo into a lovely salad dressing.  It is also doubles as a Bernaise Sauce stand-in (just use tarragon instead of shawarma spice mix) to serve with grilled meats, fish and even some veggies!  Yum!!

INGREDIENTS:

½ c. my Homemade Mayonnaise

1 T. my Shawarma Spice Blend

Dash salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:   Mix ingredients, stirring well and chill until ready to use for sandwiches.  To use it as a salad dressing or sauce for meats or seafood, thin it with a splash of more vinegar, a little heavy cream, sour cream or yogurt.  Keeps about 7-10 days in the refrigerator.  It will get an off odor when it has gone bad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 8 T. of mayo (4 servings).  Each 2T. serving contains:

200 cals, 22 g fat, 0.16 g carbs, 0.02 g fiber, 0.14 g NET CARBS, 0.64 g protein, 32 mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Shawarma Mayo or Salad Dressing

  1. Peggy, just wanted to let you know how much I love your website/recipes. I really look forward to receiving each new recipe post through my e-mail. I strive to prepare low carb meals that are as as healthy, nutritious and delicious as possible and you deliver on all counts! I just made your Shawarma Spice Blend and Mayo…..delish and something different. Thanks and God Bless.

    1. Why thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and share these kind words. I’m delighted you enjoy my cooking style and also happy you like this mayo recipe. It is so unique in flavor and I find myself adding it to casseroles and all sorts of recipes. Happy experimenting to you, Barb!

Leave a Comment