Meatza Meatza® Breakfast Burrito

Meatza Meatza®Breakfast Burrito

I have been wanting to try my grass-fed beef supplier’s cured beef bacon one time as I’ve never eaten it before.  Got some this week and the verdict is still out for me.  The hubs likes it.  It was better today in this new burrito recipe than straight with eggs in my opinion, but still a little heavy for me.  I think I lean more toward conventional pork bacon myself.  The beef bacon is very lean and not quite as salty as regular bacon though, at least my supplier’s make of it is less salty.  It appears to be make from the lean end of brisket, so it is very lean indeed.  Here’s a photo of what it looks like if you’ve never had it:  Beef BaconI was NOT wanting eggs today, so we didn’t put any into these burritos, but you certainly can put a scrambled egg into each one and I believe that would be even better than mine above.🙂

I have found that HEB grocery stores here in Texas have a whole-wheat Carb Sense tortilla that only has 3 net carbs (lower than the Mission or LaTortilla Factory with I believe have 4 carbs each).  Numbers below are calculated using the HEB 3 g. carb tortillas.    These are suitable for Phase 2 Atkins and other Keto diets if you can fit the carbs into your daily limits.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this one can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are great cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


2  oz. bulk pork breakfast sausage, formed into elongated shape

1  slice lean beef bacon

3 T. shredded Cheddar cheese

1  HEB Carb Sense brand whole wheat flour tortilla (3 g NC)

OPTIONAL:  Add an egg scrambles in 1 pat butter

VARIATION:   Add 1 T. your favorite salsa and/or a pinch of fresh chopped cilantro

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 325º.  Shape the pork sausage into an elongated shape.  Brown it and the beef bacon in a skillet or on a griddle.  Remove from heat.  Lightly oil a baking pan.  Place a tortilla on the pan.  Lift sausage and place on one half of the tortilla.  Top with the beef bacon and sprinkle on the cheese.  If using, add the scrambled egg last.  Fold other half of tortilla over all and press down.  Cover pan with loose foil and pop into 325º oven for 10-15 minutes to melt the cheese.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 burrito which contains:

327 calories (435 if scrambled egg added)

22 g. fat (31 if egg added)

14.2 g carbs, 10 g fiber, 4.2 g NET CARBS (4.6 NC if egg added)

17.6 g protein

792 mg sodium

3 comments on “Meatza Meatza® Breakfast Burrito

  1. Don’t give up on the nitrate free bacon, I found a brand here in the Boston area I like and occasionally can find. Minimal carb count because they use celery? in the curing. I found the LC tortillas too, using them for quick pizzas, loaded with vegetables, they hold up to the broiler. Thanks as usual for the ideas.


Leave a Comment

