Beef Bacon Burrito

I have been wanting to try my grass-fed beef supplier’s cured beef bacon for some time as I’ve never eaten it before.  Ordered some this week from my supplier in the panhandle and the verdict is still out for me.  The hubs likes it.  It was better today in this new burrito recipe than straight with eggs in my opinion, but still a little heavy for me.  I think I lean more toward conventional pork bacon myself.  The beef bacon is very lean and not quite as salty as regular bacon though.  It appears to be made from the lean end of brisket.  Photo below if you’ve never had beef bacon.  

I was NOT wanting eggs today, so we didn’t put any into these burritos, but these would typically have a scrambled egg in them.  As mine were a little heavy with just meat and cheese, I recommend adding the eggs.  🙂

HEB grocery stores here in Texas have a whole-wheat Carb Sense flour tortilla that only has 3 net carbs (lower than Mission or LaTortilla Factory brand).  Numbers below are calculated using the HEB 3 g. carb tortillas.    These are suitable for Phase 2 Atkins and other Keto diets if you can fit the numbers into your daily macros.

INGREDIENTS:

2  oz. bulk pork breakfast sausage, formed into elongated shape

1  slice lean beef bacon

3 T. shredded Cheddar cheese

1  HEB Carb Sense brand whole wheat flour tortilla (3 g NC)

OPTIONAL:  Add a egg scrambled in 1 pat butter for each burrito.

VARIATION:   Add 1 T. your favorite salsa or a pinch of fresh chopped cilantro (or both) when serving

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 325º.  Shape the pork sausage into an elongated shape.  Brown it and the beef bacon in a skillet or on a griddle.  Remove from heat.  Lightly oil a baking pan.  Place a tortilla on the pan.  Lift sausage and place on one half of the tortilla.  Top with the beef bacon and sprinkle on the cheese.  If using, add the scrambled egg last.  Fold other half of tortilla over all and press down.  Cover pan with loose foil and pop into 325º oven for 10-15 minutes to melt the cheese.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 burrito which contains: (does not include egg)

327 calories (435 if egg added)

22 g. fat (31 if egg added)

14.2 g carbs, 10 g fiber, 4.2 g NET CARBS (4.6 NC if egg added)

17.6 g protein

792 mg sodium

3 thoughts on “Beef Bacon Burrito

  1. Don’t give up on the nitrate free bacon, I found a brand here in the Boston area I like and occasionally can find. Minimal carb count because they use celery? in the curing. I found the LC tortillas too, using them for quick pizzas, loaded with vegetables, they hold up to the broiler. Thanks as usual for the ideas.

Leave a Comment