Beef in Mushroom Wine Sauce

beef-in-mushroom-wine-sauce

I love to make this recipe whenever I have a sizeable portion of a very large chuck or sirloin roast leftover. It’s very tasty, rich and a great way to tenderize that meat even further.  Whenever I make a beef roast, I always save any leftover gravy or roast meat broth/drippings, no matter how little that may be.  I invariably find many uses like this recipe for using it up.  I freeze it in ½-cup and 1-cup blocks and once frozen, pop them into a gallon zip-loc bags for soups, casseroles and recipes like this one that just needs a little bit broth or gravy.  I can then thin the gravy to use as beef broth. 🙂

This delicious dish can be enjoyed by all phases of Atkins provided those still on Induction omit the red wine.  This is suitable for Keto diets, Primal and Paleo as well.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ c. rich beef gravy or roast drippings (or beef broth + ¼ tsp. xanthan gum (to thicken)

2  4-oz cans mushrooms, drained (liquid reserved)

2 T. tomato paste

¼ tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. sea salt

1½ lb. leftover cooked beef roast, sliced

¼ c. dry red wine (I used zinfandel, but any dry red will work) [omit for Induction]

VARIATION:  Add 1/2 c. chopped parsley  (I was out, or I would have used it here)

DIRECTIONS:   In a large skillet over medium heat, add the beef gravy or beef stock.  If using beef broth instead of gravy, whisk in xanthan gum to blend.  Add the tomato paste and whisk again to blend well.  Add salt and pepper and stir.  If using, add parsley and red wine.  Add beef next.  Bring to a simmer and simmer covered on LOW heat for 15 minutes.  Remove lid and simmer 5 minutes longer.  If gravy is too thick, add a bit of the mushroom liquid back to the pan; if too thin, add more xanthan gum (or your preferred thickener) in very light dustings on the surface, stirring in and allowing each addition to develop and thicken before adding more. You do NOT want to overdo xanthan gum lest the sauce get slippery in texture.  Serve at once with you favorite green vegetable or side dish.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

255 calories, 6.9 g fat, 387 g carbs, 1.40 g fiber, 2.47 g NET CARBS, 40.3 g protein, 417 mg sodium

7 thoughts on “Beef in Mushroom Wine Sauce

  1. Peggy, you have the most beautiful, appetizing blog! I can’t stop reading and drooling! I’m just researching low carb eating (not another diet) as I recall going on the Atkins diet when the first book came out and I lost all my baby weight plus more. (She’s 45 now!) Since I am now living alone, I especially like recipes that are for one serving. It makes it so easy. I could freeze single portions of the larger recipes but still, it requires measuring the entire recipe and breaking down to the number of servings it says. I’ll figure it out–they all look so good! Thank you!

    1. Well THANK YOU for those kind words. I’m so glad you enjoy my recipes and that my photos draw you in to find even more you want to try. Happy browsing!! If you type “individual” into the search box above any page, it will bring up my 1 & 2 serving recipes. But of course, with a little math in the head, you can always cut my recipes down in size. 🙂

      1. I’ve been perusing low car recipes again and I can’t find anything that compares to yours. I love that you give the nutritional data. Thanks again, Peggy! 🙂

  2. I may be losing it, but I don’t see where the beef goes into the dish. Is this recipe just for the sauce that is served over the leftover roast?

    1. Well, I’m human, I see. Add it last, before the cook time specifications in the recipe. Sorry I left that out. I’ve inserted that in the directions now.

Leave a Comment