Black Walnut Ice Cream

img_5646

This was my Dad’s favorite flavor of ice cream.  We lived in Illinois when I was a wee lass and he would, without fail, order this at our nearby ice-cream parlor.  Eventually he began to concoct it at home and the rest was history.   Black walnuts are a bit pricey unless you have a tree in your yard (Daddy did).  But the distinctive flavor for some uses is worth the price in my opinion.  I store them in my freezer so they do not go rancid.  As I rarely use them, a bag will last me a year.  I can’t believe I didn’t care for black walnuts when I was a child, but I have learned to appreciate this black walnut treat.  Now, black walnut ice cream, too, is my favorite flavor!  The hint of maple flavoring is the key.  I plan to try it with Kahlua next time to see how that comes out. 🙂  This recipe is not suitable until you reach the nuts & seeds level of Phase 2 Atkins.  With a plan suitable ice cream, it should be fine for Keto and Primal followers who indulge in the occasional dairy (might want to use real maple syrup over the extract though).  This dessert is not suitable for Paleo as I just don’t think coconut mile would be good in this.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: amongfriends.us/order.php.

INGREDIENTS: 

1 recipe my Basic Vanilla Ice Cream

1 tsp. maple extract + 1 tsp. tap water (or sugar-free maple syrup)

¼ c. black walnuts, chopped (I order at nuts.com)

DIRECTIONS:  Make a batch of the low-carb vanilla ice cream (link above) by that recipe’s instructions, up to filling the molds.  Instead, scrape the ice cream into a medium bowl or loaf pan and freeze until firm but not rock hard.  Scoop out into your serving dish.  Drizzle the maple extract/water mixture on top and sprinkle the nuts on last.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  This recipe makes 1 serving (2 small scoops).  Note: The ice cream recipe makes 10 servings, so you’ll have more ice cream for other diners or future uses)

One serving:  350 calories, 34.4 g fat, 4.7 g carbs, 2.3 g fiber (deductible only if you use Fiberfit sweetener), 2.4 g NET CARBS, 8.6 g protein.

6 thoughts on “Black Walnut Ice Cream

  1. When I was a kid we had a black walnut tree in our front yard. Are used to have a swing that was attached to it, and when we set up my little swimming pool in the summer it was the shade over it. I never knew why everybody made such a big deal over it. I thought it wasn’t worth the effort to try to get the nut out of the shell. I would always get impatient and stick part of the shell in my mouth with the nut to try and chew it out. Then I would look like I had coffee grounds in my teeth because it was all black in between them. I know my parents liked black walnuts and my mom always liked black walnut ice cream. As an adult I do too. So I’m going to have to try making this for myself. Thanks for sharing it!

    1. My folks had a couple of the trees in their yard when they retired. There once was a 1-room schoolhouse (my father attended) on their property where they built their house. The trees dated back to the mid 1800’s he thought, as they were there when he attended school there. A lot of trouble to shell, but well worth it for the flavor. 🙂 Hope you like this ice cream. I make it often!

    1. Click the blue link in the ingredient list. I know the photo is of the strawberry version of it, but that IS the recipe for the Basic Vanilla Ice Cream.

  2. This recipe looks delicious. My father also loved black walnuts! So funny how fond memories are so often associated with food. Can’t wait to try this…..thanks!

Leave a Comment