Chicken Quesadillas

Click to enlarge

Continuing my Mexican Food celebration, one of my favorite lunches is quesadillas.  My first exposure to these was at Pappacitas in S.E. Houston.  I ordered their Spinach Quesadillas and was in love.  They were delicious!  Kind of like a Mexican grilled cheese for me.

Since that time, I find myself making these for lunch, as I often have a piece of leftover baked chicken, a small piece of grilled steak or half a fried pork chop.  You guys know how I am about using up leftovers promptly.  I like to make leftovers totally transformed from how they were originally served.  This is often how those bits of leftover meat get used.   They really hit the spot!  I like to whip up a little Chimichurri Sauce to have inside or dabbed on the top of mine.  These lovelies are not suitable until the grains rung of Atkins Phase 2 OWL because of the wrapper.  Primal followers can enjoy these but they are not Paleo-friendly.  Other Keto followers can have them if the carbs will fit into daily limits.

INGREDIENTS:

4  my Low Carb Flour Tortillas  (or other brand)

2 T. my chimichurri sauce

1½ c. cooked chicken, chopped, skin removed

1 c. shredded Monterey Jack cheese

DIRECTIONS:  Make the flour tortillas according to that recipe and set aside.  Make your Chimichurri Sauce according to that recipe and set aside.  Chop the chicken meat and place in a mixing bow.  Add the grated cheese and stir.   The chimichurri sauce can either be tossed in with the meat and cheese for more uniform distribution, or dotted on top of the mixture during assembly.

Place 2 tortillas on a lightly buttered griddle.  Top each with half the meat/cheese mixture.  Dot them with the chimichurri sauce if you didn’t already toss it into the meat mixture.   Place another tortilla on top and turn the heat to medium-high on the griddle. As cheese begins to melt, press the quesadillas with a spatula as the first side browns.  This will facilitate the top tortilla bonding with melting cheese, making them easier to flip.  When the first side is browned, carefully flip the quesadilla over and brown the second side, continuing to press with your spatula as it browns. When done, remove to plates or a large platter and with a knife, cut into quarters.  Serve with a tasty guacamole salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 2 whole quesadillas or 8 wedge piecesI cut mine into quarters.  However my husband and I both found we could only eat 3 of the 4 pieces on our plate.  So I am providing below the values for 1 whole, uncut quesadilla and you will need to calculate the numbers consumed based on how much of the quesadilla you actually eat.

1 whole quesadilla contains:  699 cals, 55.2 g fat, 10.35 g carbs, 3.1 g fiber, 7.25 g NET CARBS, 42.7 g protein, 950 mg sodium

1 wedge (1/4) contains:  175 cals, 13.8 g fat, 2.59 g carbs, 0.76 g fiber, 1.83 g NET CARBS, 10.70 g protein, 238 mg sodium

Leave a Comment