Buttermilk Cornbread

And to go with that chili recipe I just posted this morning, how about some southern cornbread?  Often I have buttered corn tortillas with chili.  But if I don’t feel like all the bother, I just make a pan of cornbread.  I have done some experimenting over my 14 years of low-carbing with a product called crude corn bran,  as it only has 6 net carbs per oz (1/3 c.), compared to 15 net carbs for whole cornmeal.  But sadly I just learned Honeyville Grains has discontinued this product and their Hi-Maize Resistant Starch as well.  This latter product is still available at Amazon, however.   I miss cornbread when I have chili, fried fish or BBQ.  What can I say?  I’m a southern girl.  So I guess I’ll be buying my next bag at Amazon.  

This experiment was fairly successful all in all.  It came out quite moist and had a good texture and flavor.  It was great warm with butter.  Hubby and I found it quite close to real cornbread in taste, although not as good as my recipe of over 50 years made with real cornmeal.  Texture wasn’t quite as grainy as traditional cornbread, but the taste was very close.  Appearance was pretty good, too, I thought.  I consider this recipe a work in progress, as I am just learning about crude corn bran.  So as I discover improvements, this recipe will be changed here.    This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of the OWL phase of Atkins.

INGREDIENTS:

½ c. crude corn bran or Hi-Maize Resistant Starch.  (Honeyville Grains discontinued both products.  But Hi-Maize Resistant Starch can still be had at Amazon.  

½ c. CarbQuik bake mix (or my low-carb bake mix

¼ c. hazelnut flour (almond flour is OK, but not as good a taste for cornbread)

½ c. oat fiber

1/3 c. (1 oz.) vital wheat gluten

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking soda

1 T. olive oil

½ c.  buttermilk (1%)

½ c. heavy cream

2 eggs, beaten

VARIATION:  Sometimes when serving company, I’ll replace a couple tablespoons of the oat fiber with real yellow cornmeal.  

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.  Measure all dry ingredients into a bowl  Beat eggs and all liquid ingredients in another bowl.  Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir well.  This batter is very thick, so spoon it and spread evenly into a well-greased non-stick 9″ cake pan (it tended to stick to even a non-stick surface).  Bake at 350º for about 20 minutes.  Toothpick test center to be sure it is done.  Should spring back like a cake when touched in center.  Remove and slice into 8 slices.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 slices, each contains:

123.4 cals, 8.18g fat, 15.59g carbs, 11.8g fiber, 3.79g NET CARBS, 7.29g protein, 176.5 mg sodium

4 thoughts on “Buttermilk Cornbread

  1. After months and months of searching, I finally found Hi-Maize Resistant Starch and ordered it. Thought some other low-carb folks might be interested. Name of company is My Worldhut. I can’t wait to try it in the Buttermilk Cornbread recipe! Thanks for all the delicious looking Thanksgiving recipes you just posted! Julie in Wilmington, NC

    1. Julie, I hope your Cornbread Dressing came out to your liking and that your Thanksgiving was warm and filled with memories from one N.C. girl to another). Thanks so much for sharing your shopping find with my other readers. Our celebration was fabulous and everything came out delicious, especially the dressing. It’s always the star of the table, after the bird, of course. Have a wonderful Christmas holiday as well, Julie!

    1. I haven’t really been looking, since I have 3 bottles of my Superior brand. But I hear from other keto/low-carbers that Amoretti’s is a pretty good brand of corn flavoring. Nature’s Flavors was also recommended to me, but again, I haven’t bought or tasted either of these products myself, so I can’t give a personal recommendation on them.

Leave a Comment