Buttoni’s Low-Carb Bake Mix

I’m so pleased to share a handy low-carb bake mix.  I have left out the fat so it has a long shelf life.  Be sure to add butter or shortening when you bake your recipes with it.    It only has 4.83 net carbs per ¼ cup of mix!  That’s fewer carbs than my Einkorn Bake Mix!  Regular Pioneer Bake Mix has 25 net carbs per ¼ cup.  Bisquick has 27 net carbs per 1/3 c.  Carbquik has only 2 net carbs per 1/3 c. but has a funny background taste to me even after their product changes some years back.  My goal with this was to create a mix with no ‘funny taste’ and but keep it as low carb as possible.

My inspirational recipe was a low-carb flour mix I saw over on Pam’s Low Carb and Delicious blog (she links to the mix inside her bread recipe).  Her mix has 18 NC per 1/2 cup; mine has 9.66 NC per 1/2 cup.  So a nice carb drop there.  Her bread photo a thing of beauty, so I keep her recipe around to maybe try when I can afford a carb splurge on special occasions and I want a loaf just like her photo!

I modified her ingredient listing as well as the amounts of those ingredients.  The final bake mix has produced several baked items that I am quite pleased with:  a 2-serving vanilla microwave quick cake

an oven-baked Blueberry-Lemon Snack Cake (shown right) and my

Fluffy Pancakes.

This recipe makes a big batch of nearly 11 cups of mix, so you might want to make just 1/2 this recipe to play around with in 1 or 2 of your favorite, tested recipes and see  what you think.  I would love your feedback.

INGREDIENTS:

4 c. almond flour

1 c. oat flour (I grind mine from rolled oats)

½ c. oat fiber

½ c. Einkorn Flour

1 c. vital wheat gluten

2 c. Carbalose Flour

2 c. unflavored whey protein isolate

1 T. glucomannan powder

4 tsp. baking powder

DIRECTIONS:    If grinding your own oat flour (my 2 local grocers don’t carry oat flour that is pre-ground), do this step first, letting your food processor or blender run a pretty long time for the finest grind possible.  This will lead to better texture in your final baked goods. When you have 1 cup of oat flour ground, place in large mixing bowl.  Measure all other ingredients into the bowl.  Stir well.  Then stir well at least 4 more times!  You want the ingredients uniformly mixed.  Spoon mix into lidded container and store in your pantry for use whenever you want to bake.  Since there is no fat or sweet item in this, you will, of course, have to add butter/oil/fat and and naturally, sweetener if making a dessert recipe.  Eggs and possibly cream/liquid will be needed for binding and moisture to achieve the correct batter thickness.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes about 11 cups bake mix.

1 cup mix: 443 cals, 24.9g fat, 33.78g carbs, 14.44g fiber, 19.34g NET CARBS, 34.4g protein, 223 mg sodium

¼ cup mix: 110 cals, 6.22g fat, 8.44g carbs, 3.61g fiber, 4.83g NET CARBS, 8.61g protein, 55.7 mg sodium

8 thoughts on “Buttoni’s Low-Carb Bake Mix

  1. Hi, I hope this is not so late that it doesn’t get to you. I appreciate your blog more than I can express. Am on keto but I get so much inspiration from your recipes and advice. Not to mention a lot lot of your recipes are keto suitable. Thank you.

    1. Thank you Mary. I really appreciate readers like you. I’m so glad you have found recipes here you have enjoyed. That’s the only reason I ever started this blog of tasty goodness. My parents always said good food is meant to be shared. 🙂 I will likely be out of pocket for an indefinite amount of time, given the current political environment. I’ve never seen so much hate in this country and prefer, at least, the quiet solitude at our rural cabin place. No internet there, so the blog will go silent unless the current social situation improves. God bless you and your family for your loyalty to my efforts here.

  2. I made half of this recipe, just to try it out. Since I truly do not like Carbalose, I used the new Lonjevity Fiber Flour. I am very happy at how the mix, with the modification, works. I know you’re not currently doing a lot of baking, Peggy, but I am wondering if you think this mix could sub for all the dry “flour” ingredients we LC’ers put in our baked goods. It’s so much more convenient to have one mix instead of pulling out four or five different ingredients.
    Thanks for all your help. Couldn’t do without your expertise and generosity sharing it!

    Ginny in SC

    1. Not familiar with Longevity Fiber Flour, Ginny, so I really can’t answer your question. That said, if it’s ALL fiber of some sort, I doubt it. I have learned that even increasing the amounts of oat fiber or corn fiber to 25% or dry ingredients produced products you can’t swallow they are so dry. Could you exchange it for just the Carbalose, that’s roughly a 20% swap, so perhaps your result would not be that dry. But exchanging it for 100% of the dry alternate “flours”…………well, I just don’t think so. But hey, I’ve never used Longevity or tried subbing ONE flour for 100% of the fours we use. Do it (sub it in 100%) in a regular flour-based (not low-carb) recipe. Might work; might not. I just know that fiber is not flour: doesn’t have any gluten, none I’ve used have the flavor of true wheat and results would be, at best, unpredictable if not outright inedible. Then again……what’s ONE experiment to find out? Ingredients are costly, but there’s no other way to find out. Go for it, girl!

      1. Longevity is not all fiber and it has gluten in it, though what percentage I don’t know. The website for this flour has numerous recipes and it is the only flour used, be it for a crumb topping, a loaf of yeast bread, or a quick bread application. My question is more about how well your flour blend – modified or not – will work with all manner of quick breads, muffins, scones, cupcakes, cakes, cookies. I realize yeast bread is another animal entirely…

        Again, my thanks for any comment you make!

      2. Ah, then I misunderstood the focus of your question. So far, it has worked in the few recipes I’ve trialed it in: cake, muffins and pancakes. So I believe you can sub it in for the total flour/leavening/dry ingredients in other recipes just fine. Like you say, bread is another animal entirely.

        I Googled and looked at the Longevity breakdown. I see it has inulin and maltodextrin in it. If those items don’t cause you any intentestinal issues (they do a lot of people), than I think you’re safe subbing in the Longevity for up to 25% (maybe even 50%) of the dry flours in this mix or in actual recipes. But that would be experimenting in every sense of the word. I have found that every low-carb flour/fiber product behaves differently (and even unexpectedly in combination with certain other ingredients in a given recipe). I do wish you luck with Longevity experimenting and would love to hear back on your results/findings, Ginny.

  3. Hi Peggy. I think you meant to breakdown the Nutritional info by 1/4 cup not 1/2 cup). Looks great, can’t wait to try it.

    1. Yes I did Georgia, and have corrected it now. Thanks so much to my sharp-eyed readers for catching that mistake. The Carbalose in the ingredients should read 2c. also.

Leave a Comment