Creamed Kale and Spinach

This little creation got a resounding two thumbs up from both of us. I’ve creamed spinach a bazillion times, but wanted to see what a little kale added to the picture would bring.  Well, I knew it would bring a marvelous macronutrient profile, but flavor wise, did not want the kale to dominate the final dish.  I wanted the onion and bacon to come through.  By blending the green vegetables, they were a a nice complement for the bacon-onion flavor layers.

I added a secret ingredient, one of my favorite condiments, and THAT is what made this dish so special!  Truly!  I keep telling my readers how I love my homemade Shawarma Mayo , how it is almost addictive, and man, it really is!  It brings a creaminess and flavor layer to recipes that to my way of thinking, is just indescribable.  It scored again in this new dish in my collection.  For those who say they don’t like kale abut like spinach, this one is a musts try.  I think you’ll be quite surprised at how good this is.  🙂

This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Primal eating plans.

INGREDIENTS:

4 oz. thick slice bacon (4 slices, coarsely chopped)

3 oz. red onion, shopped

1 large kale leaf, stemmed and chopped (2 c. total)

8 oz. frozen leaf spinach, thawed

2 T. my Homemade Shawarma Mayo

4 oz. cream cheese

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 325º.  Lightly grease/oil a medium baking dish and set aside.

In a large skillet over high heat, fry the chopped bacon until done but not crisp.  Drain on paper toweling.  In the grease, sauté  the onion until tender.  Add the chopped kale and sauté for 2-3 minutes or until it is getting limp.  Add the spinach and stir to blend the mixture well.   Reduce heat to medium and add the Shawarma mayo and cream cheese, stirring to melt and evenly distribute the cream cheese.  Spoon the mixture into the baking dish and top with the browned bacon.  Pop into 325º oven and bake 15-20 minutes to allow flavors to blend. Serve with your meat entree and sit back and listen to them rave about it. 🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

328 calories, 31 g fat, 8.75 g carbs, 2.8 g fiber, 5.95 g NET CARBS, 8.9 g protein, 494 mg sodium

Leave a Comment