Oven-Fried Chicken (KFC style)

photocat

This Induction friendly recipe is one of the many low-carb ways I like to bake chicken now. This recipe reminds me a little of the KFC Chicken “original recipe” with all the herbs and spices.  Cooking chicken in crushed pork rinds is actually not that unique in the low-carb community.  But I wanted to post it for those NEW to low-carb eating.  The flavor of this chicken coating changes depending on what spices you use.  For those not so fond of pork rinds, the Parmesan and spices are pretty much in the “driver’s seat” flavor-wise in this dish.  🙂

INGREDIENTS:

3 chicken thighs

3 chicken drumsticks

1/4 c. unsalted butter (or you can use homemade mayonnaise)

½ c. grated Parmesan cheese

2 T. Ranch dressing powder, my Ranch Dressing Powder Blend recipe, an on-line KCF spice recipe, or my Seafood Spice Blend

2 T. parsley, chopped very fine

1/8 tsp. black pepper

¼ c. finely crushed plain pork rinds

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º. Melt butter in microwaveable bowl.  In a separate container, mix all dry ingredients.  Dip each piece of chicken into butter, rolling to completely cover.  Then roll in the dry coating mix to cover on all sides.  Place on foil covered baking sheet.  DO NOT USE A SILICONE SHEET OR IT WILL INHIBIT BROWNING AND CRISPNESS.  Bake at 350º for 1 hour.  If exceptionally large thighs, check for doneness with a knife, right next to the bone.  Add more cooking time if needed.  Serve at once with your favorite side dishes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 3 servings, each contains:

579 cals, 40.7g fat, 1.4g carbs, 0.07g fiber, 1.33g NET CARBS, 47g protein, 500-1000 mg sodium (depending on spice blend sodium level)

84 thoughts on “Oven-Fried Chicken (KFC style)

  1. Have you tried cooking this in an air fryer? Just wondering, I am definitely going to make it one way or the other, looks YUMMY

    1. It really IS yummy, Jody. But I’m sorry to say, I have never used an air fryer. I haven’t even tried this in a convection oven yet. But it seems like either would work……….I just wouldn’t know how long to cook it in either appliance. You’d just have to experiment with that a bit. If an air fryer is real fast, you might try just one piece that way? Would love to hear back on your results. And a very happy new year to you and your family. 🙂

  2. I prepared some thighs tonight and they were absolutely AWESOME! I mean really really good. After reading the comments above everyone is scared of nothing. I added a little Cayenne Pepper and it really put a zip on it. To answer someone’s question about the carbs in Pork Skins — Robert had it correct: NONE … there are no carbs, sugar. If you’re on a Low Carb diet this is for you.

    1. I don’t really think so. I would merely cut huge breasts in half to make them more similar in size to legs and thighs. Follow the recipe as written. I don’t buy boneless chicken breast, but those would cook much faster I suspect.

    1. Sorry I’m just seeing this, RdRichardson. Had some wrist surgery yesterday and on heavy duty pain meds. I don’t think so, as I’m not so fond of that taste either. The spices hide the taste of them pretty much. They are there just for the crunch. 🙂 If he’s concerned, mix half coarse almond meal for half the amount and perhaps he’ll like that even better. 🙂

  3. Does this taste like ranch at all? I can’t stand ranch flavor at all, so that deters me from trying this…

    1. It’s sort of in-between Ranch and Herbs, Allison. Not a REAL heavy Ranch flavor due to the fresh parsley. But if you’re a super-taster, you might not like it. You’ll just have to try it and see, since my tongue isn’t your tongue. 🙂

      1. Not off the top of my head. Go to Fitday.com and set up a free account. That’s where I track and log food and recipes. Then just type in pork, (loin, or whatever cut, raw and it will show you what you want. If you’re low carbing and want this information, setting up an account would be a GOOD move towards success on the plan.

Leave a Comment