Parsnip Latkes

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I was smitten with this idea when I pulled the bag of parsnips out of the refrigerator tonight and wondered what I would do with them.  At first I was going to roast or candy them with bacon on top, but cogitated a moment or two and wondered if you could grate them and do something completely different.  Man, were these ever good!  Tasted a lot like a potato latke, but much to my surprise, they were much sweeter!  In fact, minus the green onion, I see some dessert or breakfast potential for this batter.  🙂  I’ve only had parsnips roasted before, and they are much “stronger” and sort of stringy done that way.  These were deliciously delicate, not strong at all and not the least bit stringy (once I got them grated)!  They are indeed a bit difficult to grate, due to their hard, stringy nature, but I finally got two fully grated.  To trim carbs on this, you could reduce the two bake mixes to 1 T. each.  The latkes will be a bit smaller or you’ll only get 4 from the batter.  Be sure to recalculate nutrient info if you do this.INGREDIENTS:

6 oz. parsnips, peeled and grated (this turned out to be two)

2 T. Carbquick bake mix

2 T. Jennifer Eloff’s Splendid Low-Carb Bake Mix: http://low-carb-news.blogspot.com/2008/08/bake-mix-substitutions-to-customize-to.html 

1/3 c. green onion, finely chopped

Dash salt and pepper

1 egg, beaten

3 tsp. bacon grease for frying

DIRECTIONS:  Heat 1 tsp. bacon grease in a no-stick skillet.  Spread grated parsnips over surface and saute just a couple minutes until they begin to brown.  Remove and place in bowl.  I did the pre-browning because I was afraid the parsnips would not get tender with the latke frying by the time those were brown.  Add Carbquick and Eloff  Low-Carb bake mix and stir to blend well.  Add green onion, salt, pepper and beaten egg and mix batter well.  Heat remaining bacon grease in skillet over medium-high heat.  Using a large spoon and your hand, form 5 small patties about 2″ in diameter and place on hot skillet and fry to golden brown.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 5 latkes each contains:

83 calories

4.05 g  fat

8.46 g carbs, 3.4 g fiber, 5.32 NET CARBS

3.64 g protein

70 mg sodium

4 thoughts on “Parsnip Latkes

  1. I made this last night for dinner with a nice old-fashioned pot roast. It was really fantastic!! I used a leek instead of green onion as I had this still in my garden. It satisfied the urge for chips like nothing we’ve tried since we have been eating low carb. Thanks as always for the inspiration!!

    1. So glad you liked these, Pearl! My Dad just loved parsnips. Mom used to bake/candy them in the oven with a wee bit of brown sugar and bacon laid across the top. Boy, are they ever good THAT way! BTW, my grandmother’s name was Pearl. 🙂

    1. Now that’s an interesting idea, too, Jennifer. I’ve decided you can make good latkes with most veggies. Have yet to meed a latke I didn’t like! 🙂

Leave a Comment