Jicama-Eggplant Stuffing

Jicama-Eggplant Stuffing

Jicama-Eggplant Stuffing

This Induction-friendly stuffing is wonderful with the holiday turkey, with baked chicken and stuffed pork chops.  As cornbread is not allowed during the early phase of a low-carb diet, even on maintenance you can’t afford to eat anything made with real cornmeal very often and stay within your daily carb limits.  I decided to experiment with two unusual ingredients and came up with a recipe that was quite good!  One cyber acquaintance on the Atkins Community forums has told me more than once it is THE BEST stuffing she has EVER eaten, low-carb or non-low-carb.  I guarantee you won’t be missing that cornbread stuffing one bit serving this dish with your Thanksgiving dinner!  Leftovers freeze very nicely, too.  In fact, the jicama softens up after freezing, so intentionally preparing this early and freezing it might not be such a bad idea.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Order the complete 10-volume set and get deeper discounts.  Order your set or individual books  from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1 stick unsalted butter

6 oz. chopped yellow onion

6 oz. chopped celery

12 oz. grated jicama

12 oz. coarsely chopped peeled eggplant (½-¾” pieces)

1/2 c. chopped parsley

1/4 c. + 1 T. chicken broth

1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning (I make my Dad’s Poultry Seasoning recipe)

1/4 tsp. ground thyme

1/4 tsp. each salt and black pepper

1 egg, beaten into the broth above

1 slice/roll of any low-carb bread you have on hand (use a flax bun if still on Induction)

DIRECTIONS:  Place peeled, chopped  eggplant in boiling water and simmer until soft but do not reduced it to mush.  This should take about 10 minutes. Drain well in a colander, pressing out as much water as you can with the back of a spoon.

While eggplant is draining, melt stick of butter in a large non-stick skillet.  Add onion and celery and saute until they start to soften.  Add the grated jicama. Continue to saute, turning often, until jicama threads are quite tender and beginning to “shrink” as their moisture cooks out.

Scrape eggplant into a large mixing bowl.  Add the sauteed veggies, parsley, all seasonings and crumbled low-carb bread (use a flax bun if still on Induction).    Add beaten egg/broth mixture.   Stir all ingredients to enable the egg/broth to bind the stuffing ingredients all together.

Transfer stuffing to well-buttered 9×13 baking pan.  If I don’t have company, I will usually put the stuffing right back into the already greased non-stick skillet I sauteed the veggies in.  🙂  Bake at 350º for around 30 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 servings,  each containing:

166 calories

13.66 g  fat

9.46 g  carbs, 4.66 g fiber, 4.86 NET CARBS

3.09 g  protein

73 mg. sodium

21 thoughts on “Jicama-Eggplant Stuffing

  1. I’ve used crushed pork rinds in place of bread crumbs before, do you think something like that would work in place of the flax bun? I am very new to low carb and don’t have flax on hand

    1. I don’t think I’d use pork rinds. Just don’t think they will be good in stuffing. I sure wouldn’t try it for Thanksgiving and be disappointed. If you wanted to try it for a regular dinner and see how it comes out, that would be wiser, I think. I’d use some kind of low-carb biscuits or bread torn into pieces would be better than pork rinds here.

  2. I’m planning on making this but am confused by the bread. Say I’m going to use a slice of whole wheat bread, should I toast it first so it can be crumbled?

    1. Kath, I think this stuffing is going to gooey wet without that bit of bread to make it more traditional stuffing-like. Don’t think flour or bake mix will do that job. What about clicking Single Serving and Rolls in the Bread category at the right and picking out one of the single serving microwave quick breads to use. I think you’ll be much happier with it that way.

      1. Hmm not sure why but reply is in the wrong place lol thank you! A single serving bread is definitely do-able!

      1. I provided Sharon a link to the flax bun I was referring to and assume she found the recipe there I referred to. Flax breads or way-too-eggy-for this Oopsie Rolls are about the only breads allowed during Induction.

  3. I want to make some rolled ribs do you think this stuffing would work or is it too “soupy”? Cook it first then use it?

    1. I guess I don’t know what rolled ribs are? I’m trying to picture what you’re describing and am not succeeding. You mean a rack of spare ribs or beef ribs?

    1. And I’m just so pleased you like it, Tami. I made it not long ago myself. I love how well it freezes. The eggplant seems to keep it from drying out in the freezer like conventional stuffings are inclined to do.

Leave a Comment