Pork Rind French Toast Cakes

 

Click to enlarge

French Toast Cakes

This is a slight variation on the YOU WON’T BELIEVE IT’S FRENCH TOAST recipe floating around on the web.  This is the particular recipe that was my inspiration:  http://www.lowcarbluxury.com/recipes/recipe-bread13.html.  I added some golden flax meal and we like it even better than the original recipe.  These really do taste a lot like traditional French toast; just don’t look like traditional French toast.  They have that little bit of crunch that the surface of French toast has!  These are DELICIOUS with sugar-free maple syrup or your favorite fruit preserves!  You simply cannot tell there are pork rinds in them!

This recipe is Induction friendly.  Another low carber on the Atkins Community Forums  reported after making these:  “I froze the leftovers and ate the next day toasted and they were still GREAT!!!”  So you working people can double/triple the recipe and save some frozen for another day!  Bear in mind, if you like a sweeter pancake, you can add a few drops of liquid sweetener to this batter, but we find the syrup on top does the trick for us.  Your call on that one.  🙂

For more interesting low-carb breakfast ideas, visit the LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS Facebook page to see a preview of the recipes contained in this wonderful 5-volume set of cookbooks by international author Jennifer Eloff and friends.  Famous low-carb chef George Stella has collaborated on this project as well!  You can order individual volumes or the entire set at Amazon or direct.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ oz. pork rinds, crushed (about 1¼ c.)

2 T. golden flax meal

2 eggs, beaten

¼ c. cream

½ tsp. vanilla

¾ tsp. cinnamon

2 T. water

DIRECTIONS:  Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and let it set for about 2-3 minutes and get thick.  Making 4 “french toasts”, dip the batter onto an oiled, hot griddle, pancake style, forming into roundish “cakes” with the back of a spoon.  Brown on first side and flip.  When both sides nicely browned, serve with your favorite low-carb syrup (I use Cary’s) and breakfast meat.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 4 french toast “cakes”, each contains:

141 calories

9.5 g  fat

2.8 g  carbs, 1.0 g fiber, 1.8 NET CARBS

10.8 g  protein

278 mg sodium

27 thoughts on “Pork Rind French Toast Cakes

    1. I, as most low-carbers, don’t believe in using “light” or low-fat dairy products with their artificial ingredients. I always use FULL-FAT regular cream cheese as it is healthier. I use full-fat heavy (whipping) cream.

  1. What a neat little breakfast item! Yesterday I made a half-batch and accidentally left out the flax meal. They were good, but a little salty for my taste (and I tend to salt my food rather liberally) and a bit porky too. Today I made several batches and remembered the flax, and the difference is very noticeable–a slightly softer texture and a great flavor, not too salty, and you’d never know they were made with pork rinds. Thanks, Peggy!

  2. Are the pork rinds salted? I haven’t seen any unsalted ones at my store only original and spicy.

    1. Yes. I don’t believe anyone is making these unsalted. But most baked goods call for a pinch of salt. I just make sure to never add ADDITIONAL salt to any recipe that uses pork rinds. sweet dishes or savory dishes. Then things come out about right for me. 🙂

Leave a Comment