Einkorn Low-Carb Bake Mixes

I have two low-carb bake mixes now.  The first has a little bit of Einkorn flour and is very low-carb.  The second has considerably more Einkorn flour and a higher carb count.  I present both below for my newer readers. 

Buttoni’s Low-Carb Bake Mix #1 (2014)

This was my first mix to put together.  It only has 4.83 net carbs per ¼ cup of mix!  That’s fewer carbs than my Einkorn Bake Mix!  Regular Pioneer Bake Mix has 25 net carbs per ¼ cup.  Bisquick has 27 net carbs per 1/3 c.  Carbquik has only 2 net carbs per 1/3 c. but has a funny back taste to me even after their product changes some years back.  My goal with this experiment was to create a mix with no ‘funny taste’ and still keep it fairly low carb.

My inspirational recipe was a low-carb flour mix I saw over on Pam’s Low Carb and Delicious blog (she links to the mix inside her bread recipe).  Her mix has 18 NC per 1/2 cup; mine has 9.66 NC per 1/2 cup.  So a nice carb drop there.  Her bread photo a thing of beauty, so I keep her recipe around to maybe try when I can afford a carb splurge on special occasions and I want a loaf just like her photo!

I modified both ingredients and amounts.  The final bake mix has produced several tasty, nice-textured items so far.  First to try was a 2-serving vanilla microwave quick cake

Next I tried a Blueberry-Lemon Snack Cake (shown right).  It performed well in my

Fluffy Pancakes as well.

This recipe makes a big batch of nearly 11 cups of bake mix, so you might want to make up just 1/2 recipe to trial it and see  what you think.  I would love your feedback.

INGREDIENTS:

4 c. almond flour

1 c. oat flour (I grind mine from rolled oats)

½ c. oat fiber

½ c. Einkorn Flour

1 c. vital wheat gluten

2 c. Carbalose Flour

2 c. unflavored whey protein isolate

1 T. glucomannan powder

4 tsp. baking powder

DIRECTIONS:    If grinding your own oat flour (my 2 local grocers don’t carry oat flour that is pre-ground), do this step first, letting your food processor or blender run a pretty long time for the finest grind possible.  This will lead to better texture in your final baked goods. When you have 1 cup of oat flour ground, place in large mixing bowl.  Measure all other ingredients into the bowl.  Stir well.  Then stir well at least 4 more times!  You want the ingredients uniformly mixed.  Spoon mix into lidded container and store in your pantry for use whenever you want to bake.  Since there is no fat or sweet item in this, you will, of course, have to add butter/oil/fat and and naturally, sweetener if making a dessert recipe.  Eggs and possibly cream/liquid will be needed for binding and moisture to achieve the correct batter thickness.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes about 11 cups bake mix.

1 cup mix: 443 cals, 24.9g fat, 33.78g carbs, 14.44g fiber, 19.34g NET CARBS, 34.4g protein, 223 mg sodium

¼ cup mix: 110 cals, 6.22g fat, 8.44g carbs, 3.61g fiber, 4.83g NET CARBS, 8.61g protein, 55.7 mg sodium

Einkorn Bake Mix #2 (2018)

This is a very large recipe of bake mix and you may prefer to make only a half batch to start out with if you want to experiment with it.  You SHOULD be able to use this mix as a substitute in any Bisquick or Carbquik recipes.  You should also be able to replace the flour+leavening+shortening in your regular baking recipes successfully with this, but never lose sight of the fact that all substitutions in recipes are ‘experiments’.

I would first trial it in a favorite recipe, so fewer ingredients will be wasted if the test is a fail.  Feel free to post links to pictures of your experiments with this mix in the comment section.  We’d all love to learn from your experiences.  🙂  

MIX INGREDIENTS:  (I recommend NO SUBSTITUTIONS)

5 c. almond flour

2 c. plain whey protein powder (I use NOW brand)

1 c. Einkorn flour

1 c. oat flour  (ground from about 1¼ c. rolled oats)

¼ c. oat fiber

1 tsp. glucomannan powder

3 T. baking powder

2 tsp. cream of tartar

2 tsp. salt

1½ c. palm shortening (I order at Tropical Traditions)

DIRECTIONS:  Grind the oats into flour in your food processor.  Add all dry ingredients and pulse couple times.  Then add shortening and pulse few more times until mixture is a nice crumbly texture.  If using a blender, before adding shortening, I would place dry mixture into a large mixing bowl.  Then, using a fork or pastry cutter, cut the shortening into the mixture until it resembles coarse cornmeal.  Place finished bake mix into a lidded container.  Can be stored on the counter safely as palm shortening has a very long shelf life at room temperature.  If you decide to store in the refrigerator, be aware the shortening will firm up and cause the mix to clump a bit.  So you need to set it out, bring to room temperature and re-work with a fork in a bowl to evenly distribute shortening clumps before attempting to use in recipes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:     Makes 11 cups of mix.  ½ cup mix contains:

338 calories, 28.2 g  fat, 15.99 g  carbs, 4.6 g fiber, 11.39 g  NET CARBS, 14.5 g  protein, 170 mg sodium

SIDE NOTE:  I just had my very first kidney stone December 2022.  Ouch!   After it was removed and lab-analyzed, it proved to be a calcium oxalate stone, the most common type.  I was told to reduce oxalates in my diet.  Guess what are very high in oxalates?  ALMONDS!  Learning that sure popped my low-carb balloon!  I’ve been using almond flour since 2009 when I began low-carbing, so it likely has been a big factor in my stone formation.   I will have to greatly reduce my consumption of almonds or risk future kidney stones!  Whatever shall I do?  If I develop a higher Einkorn flour bake mix, the carbs will go MUCH HIGHER.  I really don’t like baking with all coconut flour (although coconut is low in oxalates).  Whey protein isn’t an option for stone formers either.  Will have to start experimenting with macadamia nut flour (could get real expensive).  I can also try using more Hi-Maize flour and tinker with more oat fiber in things, but it is very drying.  I feel like I just got kicked back to square one, after 14 years of success with my low-carb baking.   

2 thoughts on “Einkorn Low-Carb Bake Mixes

    1. Welcome, Darlene! Although I don’t mind the taste and have used sunflower flour in a few things, usually crackers, where color isn’t key for me, it is useful. But I just don’t like how it colors baked goods slightly grayish-green, so I won’t use it in breads, muffins or cakes (unless a zucchini cake or banana bread, maybe). I find the final color kind of unappetizing. I would sure never put it into a multi-purpose bake mix for this reason.

Leave a Comment