Fluffy Biscuits

Fluffy Biscuits

I kid you not, these are one of the lightest, fluffiest biscuits I’ve ever made!  My husband will tell ya, I’ve been trying to find a good biscuit recipe for the entire time I’ve been married!!!  Who would have thought the best would end up being a low-carb recipe?!  🙂  They can’t shine a light to Frank Williamson’s at Professional Bldg. Pharmacy snack counter in Galveston, TX (my benchmark of melt-in-your-mouth buttermilk biscuits), but they’re pretty darn good considering they are not made with much real flour.

My inspiration was Jennifer Eloff’s focaccia bread recipe, which I tweaked a bit.  I just made the resulting batter into drop biscuits and man were they good!  These are not suitable until the grains rung of OWL because of my CarbQuik addition.  If you use all Jennifer’s Gluten-Free bake bix and no CarbQuik, they would be suitable once you get to Atkins Phase 2 OWL nuts & seeds rung of the carb re-introduction ladder.  This change would also make them gluten-free.

VARIATION:  Substitute cheddar cheese for the Parmesan & Monterey Jack cheeses, brush tops with butter.  Sprinkle a pinch of garlic powder and herbs on top, and these are transformed into Red Lobster style Cheddar Bay Biscuits!

INGREDIENTS:

4 oz. cream cheese, softened

2 eggs

½ c. Jennifer Eloff Gluten-Free bake mix

¼ c. CarbQuik  or one of my own low-carb bake mixes (use ¼ c. more Jennifer’s mix for gluten-free)

1 T. Parmesan Cheese, grated

½ c. Monterrey Jack Cheese, grated

½ tsp. each baking powder and baking soda

dash salt

1 T. olive oil

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Soften cream cheese and beat in the eggs.  Add all remaining ingredients and beat well.  Dip onto parchment lined baking sheet, forming 9 large drop biscuits.   Pop into preheated oven for about 10-15 minutes or until nicely browned.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 9 large biscuits, each containing:

134.5 cals, 11.9 g fat, 4.04 g carbs, 2.04 g fiber, 2g NET CARBS, 7.56 g protein, 199 mg sodium

65 thoughts on “Fluffy Biscuits

  1. What are your thoughts on using Jennifer’s “Splendid Low-Carb Mix” which is not gluten free, instead of her GF mix? I have some mixed up already, but I don’t want to waste it if you think that the biscuits wouldn’t taste as good.

    1. I’ve made it; I’ve used it. It’s wonderful……….AND, it’s actually lower in carbs than her other mixes. Your biscuits will come out great! 🙂

      1. Good to know! Please clarify the amounts. Should I use 1/2 cup of Jennifer’s Splendid Mix w/gluten, and 1/4 cup Carbquik?

        Also, do you happen to have a low carb recipe for milk gravy?

      2. Either way is OK. What’s important IMHO is that it be a mixture of flours, which the two mixes will bring. For the gravy, I don’t have a recipe for a plain milk/cream gravy. But you can just leave out the sausage and use this recipe: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/sausage-gravy/. Or leave out the bacon and leeks on this one: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2017/06/03/bacon-leek-gravy-on-toast/. Or leave out the meat on this one: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2015/10/08/bacon-smothered-burger-2/

        BTW, the search engine here is VERY good. Type in any ingredient or common recipe name and it will bring up a lot of recipes I have here. 🙂

  2. Omg. Made these today. Amazing. Shocking how fluffy and moist they came out. Thank you so much for posting the recipe.

  3. Anything I can substitute the egg with? I would love to try these but my husband has celiac and can’t eat gluten or eggs.

  4. Hi
    I’ve just got a question about the recipes ingredients. Are you supposed to use both the Carbquick and Jennifer’s gluten free mix in the recipe?

    1. Yes. It’s actually why they have such a smooth, nice texture. You can use all of one or the other, but experience tells me they come out kinda coarse and crumbly. I use Jennifer’s for the gluten-free, healthy non-flour aspect. Then I add just enough Carbquick to improve the texture of baked goods. You see, CQ has real flour in it, but it is processed to be lower-carb than normal wheat flour. It also has an added deductible fiber advantage.

Leave a Comment