Dad’s Poultry Seasoning

My Dad, the REAL cook in the family, made a lot of his own spice blends.  This was one he nailed!  I got ready to make some holiday cornbread dressing and realized I was completely out of this and had to make a batch today.  So I thought I’d share his special blend again today.  It’s a little more intense, with a little less sage, but I think much better tasting than commercial poultry seasoning, with the garlic powder and cayenne in it.  But it’s definitely not real “hot” from the cayenne.  In a 9×13 pan of dressing, I tend to use 1T.+2 tsp. of this mixture. This recipe usually lasts me about a year, as I use it fairly frequently.  It’s great in stuffing, on roast pork, pork chops and baked chicken.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and other wonderful cooks to bring you a wealth of recipes you will love! Some of my low-carb creations appear in each of the 5 volumes! Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ T. dried sage

1½ T. onion powder

1½ T.  black pepper

1½ T. celery seed (not celery SALT)

1 T. + 2 tsp. dried thyme

1½ T. dried marjoram

2¼ tsp. dried rosemary

½ tsp. garlic powder

½ tsp. cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS: Mix all ingredients in a small bowl and spoon into dark, tinted storage jar with a tight lid.  Or store in a dark cabinet.  Spices store best away from light exposure.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes about 11 tablespoons (33 teaspoons).  Each tsp. contains:

4.79 cals, 0.12g fat, 0.95g carbs, 0.31g fiber, 0.64g NET CARBS, 0.18g protein, 1 mg. sodium

6 thoughts on “Dad’s Poultry Seasoning

  1. I liberally dusted a roaster with this after slathering butter all over it. I had to fight the rest of the family for the skin. Then the carcass went into a crock pot with stock veg and more of this. Good thing, too, because we were all sick the next week, and the soup pulled us through. It even dresses up your oven-fried chicken (I dust the chicken with this after rubbing the mayo on & before the ground pork rind coating). This is a wonderful blend and I silently toast your dad every time I use it.

    1. I’m so glad you like this. That bit of garlic and cayenne is what makes this blend so special. I toast Dad, too, each time I use one of his spice blends, or make one of his favorite recipes. He so loved to cook. His food was always easy and tasty. I wish I had HALF his cooking talent. I miss him very much.

  2. This is fantastic!! I made the pot pie recipe from Carbquik halfed the Carbquik crust added this seasoning to the chicken califlower/broccoli/geen bean filling and I swear I could sell this pot pie in a resteraunt… This seasoning took it to another level of yummyness!! Thanks so much Peggy for such great recipes!!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed this spice and the pot pie, Jen. I haven’t made the pot pie in a long time. Trying to avoid baked goods for awhile as much as possible. Just puddings and no-bake cheesecakes for awhile for me. Maybe by winter I’ll be at goal and can enjoy my fav winter comfort food…….chicken pot pie.

  3. Peggy, I put this seasoning together and used it today in my turkey meatloaf recipe. Except for an addition of ground pork and zucchini, all other ingredients remained the same. I am convinced that your Dad’s p.seasoning, took it to a new dimension! Thank you so much for sharing and coming up with these new recipes.

Leave a Comment