Oatmeal Cookies

OatmealCookies

Made my hubby some delicious oatmeal cookies this morning.  These are kind of chewy and are still like that after they cool off.  I’m very pleased with the chewy texture of these and have used this basic cookie dough for many cookie variations over the last 2 years. So far I have done variations with fresh cherry, pineapple and pecan, dried prune , currant-spice, pumpkin, and chia-chai .  All have been delicious.  If you’re tired of dry/brittle cookies and seek a low carb cookie that is moist and chewy, this one you really need to try!  They also freeze well and are even chewier when eaten right out of the freezer!!  These are not suitable until the grains rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb reintroduction ladder.

DO NOT SUBSTITUTE OTHER SWEETENERS FOR THE SUGAR-FREE HONEY IN THESE OR THEY WILL NOT COME OUT CHEWY!  I discovered that the hard way. Real honey will work, but will also jack up the carbs considerably!

INGREDIENTS:

2 c. almond flour

½ c. coconut flour

1 T. oat fiber (substitute 100% certified gluten-free oat flour for a gluten-free version)

1 tsp. glucomannan powder (konjac powder)

1/8 tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking soda

½ c. granular Splenda (or equivalent sweetener to = ½ c. sugar)

1 T. erythritol

½ c. chopped pecans

½ c. rolled oats (100% certified gluten-free if you require that)

½ c. melted coconut oil or butter (or any combination of the two)

2 T. almond butter

1 T. vanilla extract

1 egg, beaten

¼ c. sugar-free honey (NO SUBSTITUTES or they won’t be chewy)

5 chopped dried prunes (much lower in carbs than raisins)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  In a large mixing bowl measure in all dry ingredients.  In a smaller bowl, stir the almond butter and oils together until smooth.  Beat in the egg, vanilla and imitation honey.    Add the chopped prunes  on top and stir well to form a smooth dough.   Roll dough into 28  1″ balls of dough and place them onto parchment or silicone-lined baking sheets.  Leave 1″ space between cookies as they don’t spread much during cooking.  Press balls down slightly flat to about a 2″ circle and pop pans into preheated 350º oven.  Bake for about 7-8 minutes.  Do not over brown these cookies or texture will be drier and prone to crumble more.  Remove from oven and COOL COMPLETELY on the pans before removing with a spatula.  These are delicate while hot but “firm up” nicely when cooled. Store in an airtight container on counter or freeze up t 1 month.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 28 cookies, each contains:

120 cals, 10.4g fat, 6.03g carbs, 2.21g fiber, 3.82g NET CARBS  (without prunes, 5.18 g carbs, 2.10 fiber, 3.08 NET CARBS), 2.82g protein, 58 mg sodium

HOMEMADE IMITATION HONEY: If you have real honey (too high in carbs) but really don’t want to run to the store or order sugar-free honey, I have a solution inspired by a recipe I saw on Birgit Kerr’s blog Birgitkerr.blogspot.com.  My recipe is to simply boil for 2-3 minutes: ¼ c. erythritol, 2 T. + 1 tsp. real honey and 1 pkt. stevia (or Splenda).  Cool (thickens as it cools) and put in airtight jar.  My version is here if you want to print a copy: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/imitation-sugar-free-honey/  TIP:  If it crystalizes in your pantry over time, just soften in the microwave on DEFROST for 1  minute or plunge into a pot of slow simmering warm water a minute or so before using.

13 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Im just learning how to bake carb free,can i use local real honey and what do you mean sugar free honey.

    1. Sugar free honey is just that, a substitute thick syrup that is sweetened with artificial sweetener. Honeytree brand at Walmart is what I use. Using real honey will make these quite high in carbs. Real honey may have some health benefits, but it is not seen by the body one bit differently that granulated sugar. So using it defeats your purpose in making low-carb cookies.

    1. I just don’t know, Robin. You can try it and see. I’m sure it’ll be an edible cookie. But I really don’t know if it will be chewy or not, to be quite honest.

    1. So glad you liked them Georgene. Our batch is gone now, too. 🙂 Hubby want me to make a batch with no nuts or fruit next time. He’s such a purist, he only eats vanilla, strawberry and chocolate ice creams. 🙂

  2. Peggy, Are most of your recipes in the cookbooks Among friends? I’ve been trying to save them, but I just ordered a 5 book set Aug 28. Should get them Monday.

    1. The team thanks you for your support. Actually, Anita, I’m just an adjunct author. I’m the sole family member left to oversee my 90 y.o. mother nearly 3 hours away in a dementia care facility. I wish I could devote more time to the project. 🙂 I have over 800 recipes on my blog and probably only a dozen or so in the books. More are to be added to Vols. 1-3 for future printings. So if you like my recipes, I would either print them off the LCAF FB page, or to be sure you see them all, you can subscribe to my blog (lower right side of page) and they will come to you email In-Box. But I only post a small percentage of my total collection on the LCAF page. That’s really a very nice feature and the very best way to not miss anything I’m cooking up in the kitchen. 🙂

      1. Yes,I’m printing them and I already subscribe to your blog. Thank you so much. I had my mother in that same situation several years ago. I appreciate all that you are doing with the recipes.

  3. If it is true that in the spring, a young man’s fancy turns to thoughts of love, then it is equally true that as autumn approaches, we older ladies think longingly of oatmeal cookies! Thanks so much for using your expertise to come up with this delicious sounding recipe, because I love oatmeal cookies. The last cookie I made was chocolate chip from another website and they never got chewy. By the next day, they were falling apart on me. These beauties will certainly make me forget that. You had me at moist and chewy. I am also a fan of Sugar Tree honey from Walmart, and have been buying it for the last seven or eight years I think. Again, thanks for the recipe, and I am sure my husband will be euphoric. I plan on making these this weekend, or early next week. It is really humid here, and rain is expected over the weekend, so I may have to wait. 😦

    1. Janiemid, if “chewy” is what you seek, I would actually freeze these and eat them right out of the freezer. I have found that I like to do this with all of the cookies I have made with this basic dough. Frozen, they REALLY get even chewier, but not too chewy to eat. I just ate two after dinner and they are still slightly chewy. But I’m gonna freeze the rest tonight. 🙂

Leave a Comment