Pigs in a Blanket

I haven’t made Pigs in a Blanket in literally years.  So when I passed by the center-aisle display of Little Smokies at the store yesterday, I picked up a package.   I decided to use some of my Mozzy Dough to blanket them and they came out so good.  But man, oh, man, I had no idea how much sodium are in those little sausages!  My fingers swelled up after just eating three of these!  These are NOT suitable for the sodium sensitive, so as my husband’s doctor just put him on a low-sodium diet, he could only taste one of them.  Be sure to drink lots of water after eating these piggies.  They were so tasty I ate three!  A flavor from parties past!  These are suitable for Atkins Phase 2 or beyond and other Keto diets.

Our latest two LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS cookbooks, Volume 8 and Volume 9 are almost exclusively comprised of my recipes!  Included in both editions are a few tasty new creations of my dear friends George Stella and Jennifer Eloff.   EARLY BIRD SECRET SALE!!  Special pricing and limited time free shipping so hurry and place your order.  Or you can order these or any of our cookbooks at https://amongfriends.us/Secret-SALE.php.

When you purchase our books, we would sure appreciate you stopping by Amazon to leaving a review at this site

INGREDIENTS:

1 recipe my Mozzy Dough

28 Oscar Mayer beef Little Smokies sausages

DIRECTIONS:  Make the Mozzy Dough per that recipe’s instructions.  Line a sheet pan with parchment paper and preheat oven to 350º.  Pinch off 1″ balls of dough and form a ball and then with your fingers form a small oval of dough slightly less wide than the sausages are long.  Place a sausage in the middle of the dough and roll the ends up over to the center, overlap a bit and press the seam.  Place onto parchment-lined pan and repeat with the rest of the dough and sausages.  I had enough dough for 28.  Pop into 350º oven and bake until golden or about 17 minutes.  Keep an eye out as ovens vary and this cheese-laden dough can brown very fast once it begins to brown.  Remove and cool slightly.  The dough seems to improve when they are cooled off a bit.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 28 pieces, each contains:

180 cals, 16g fat, 1.96g carbs, 1.35g fiber, 1.61g NET CARBS, 9.1g protein, 496 mg sodium (Sodium is mostly in the meat, not the dough.  A lower-sodium sausage might be a better choice)

2 thoughts on “Pigs in a Blanket

    1. No, my number is correct. There are carbs in the dough; there are carbs in the meat. Regular smoked sausage would likely have less carbs, but that’s not what I bought for this treat. 🙂

Leave a Comment